October 21, 2005

First and foremost,Happy Birthday to my Mom! Also, Happy Anniversary to myparentsAside: Actual parents not pictured. A guy could not have asked for two greater parents…and I’m sure that C will agree that they’re two of the best in-laws around.

Checked out Le Petomane Theatre Ensemble last night in their production of Midsummer Night’s Dream. Or as the posters around town say…”GET PUCKED!” Take a look at my two cents in the Entertainment page.

POETRY MOMENT

The city is wet in the early hours. The stink of industry washed into the gutter and a new day dawns with the fresh scent of rain.

Somebody left an entire box of chocolate chip cookies on my desk this week. I think it’s some sort of tribute to my greatness. Regardless, I’ve eaten more than half of them. We’re talking about a box of 24 chocolate chip cookies. Actually I’m surprised I haven’t eaten them all.

Headed to Somerset, Lake Cumberland that is, for the weekend. Got big work-doings there over the weekend. Maybe you’ll read about it in the paper or something. I’d tell you more, but then I’d have to kill you. And I’m sure there are at least 3 people who read this thing every month or so, so I really don’t want to have to go to the bother of tracking you all down, plus gas is expensive and then there’s the blood cleanup. I mean, really, it’s not worth it.

And now, for something you’ll pay even less attention to:

FRIDAY FIVE (feel free to answer in the forum)

  1. What do you like or dislike about autumn? I like autumn chill. The time when you can open the windows and need a blanket to cover your feet and shoulders while you read a good book and drink hot tea. I also love the turning of the leaves. The tree leaves, not the tea leaves. I don’t know if tea leaves turn.
  2. Have you raked leavesinto a pile just to jump in them? I did that once…damn near broke my arm. Those commercials…they lie. Either that or we have cheap leaves in Kentucky. Maybe you need like an entire forest worth of leaves. Either way I don’t recommend it. It’s painful.
  3. Have you ever carved a pumpkin, and how did it turn out? I’ve carved several pumpkins. Most with the help of others. They generally turn out okay…the problem is that the pumpkin is a pretty tough gourd. It’s hard to keep the knife going along the guidelines of the face you’ve drawn. I recommend a jigsaw to complete your pumpkin.
  4. Have you ever eaten anything made from pumpkin other than pie? Well, I don’t know if this counts, but I’ve had roasted pumpkin seeds. They’re delicious and addictive. I can’t think of anything else I might have eaten with pumpkin in it…oh wait…pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. There we go. I knew I’d think of something.
  5. Where is a good spot to see the leaves change color where you live?Well, I don’t think you can actually watch leaves change color. It’s a long process, plus I think most of it happens at night anyway. But…if you want to see leaves that have already shed the green, check out Bernheim Forest. Word is that the peak time to see color is October 25, so you just made it.

So there it is. I think that one is much better than last week. The shiny nickel offer still stands, although it is arguably probably less shiny now that it’s a week old.

See you in the funny papers.

Leave a Reply

