December 2, 2005

HAPPY BIRTHDAY C! Actually, it’s not until tomorrow, but I will not be writing tomorrow…so it’s early. Now you have a last-minute chance to get on the forum and wish her a happy birthday.

We’re going to cut down a Christmas tree tomorrow. It’s one of C’s favorite events of the year, so it’s cool that it’s on her birthday. It’s an annual thing where we trek out into the freezing cold, stare at thousands of conifers in various shades of painted green, pick the perfect one, cut it down, drag it through the mud to the car and drive miles and miles home to adorn it with plastic and metal baubles and electric lights. I make it sound awful, but in truth Aside: verily, even it’s a fabulous trip. I’ve enjoyed it every year. Even the year that the tire blew out in the below wind chill Indiana countryside…and the year that the Jeep overheated.

One paper finished and ready to go. One final left next Friday. And the door is slammed shut on this semester. I’m pretty happy about that really. I’m beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel and it doesn’t seem to be a large train at any rate. I’m figuring about 4 more semesters and I’ll have a degree. Just a shade under a decade and a half.

Christmas is coming. You have exactly 22 shopping days left to find the perfect gift for me. I’m really not picky. I’m happy with just about everything…except for that “vegetable-of-the-month” club.

And now…on to the Friday Five

  1. When is the last time you rode the bus? I believe that would be my senior year of high school. I didn’t have my own car and nobody with a car lived near me, so I rode the bus. I’d like to blame all of this on my parents, but it isn’t their fault. When you get older, you realize these things.
  2. Describe the last time you stood up for a cause: Hmm, that’s a good question. I guess the last time would have to be when I was a counselor at camp. I overheard some of the guys in the cabin making plans to “haze” Aside: for lack of a better term a fellow camper. What made it worse, was one of the guys was a counselor-in-training. So, I decided that rather than lay there on my bunk and let it happen, I got up and interrupted the plans. I explained that these guys were old enough to know better and that they younger kids looked up to them. I also told the counselor-in-training that he was at camp to provide a good influence. It wasn’t necessarily a “cause” per se, but if you were the target of this hazing, then I guess you could say it was your cause.
  3. Have you visited Alabama? Yes. I have an aunt who lives in Birmingham. Home of the Barons, famous for being Michael Jordan’s minor-league team. They also hosted some of the opening-round soccer matches when the Olympics were in Atlanta. I would like to visit more of the historical places though. Maybe visit Selma and Montgomery.
  4. Have you ever attended a rally? No…actually, up until about the time I met C, I was pretty ignorant of most things political. I voted, but I didn’t pay that much attention. Now I get regular emails from the Democratic party and I follow the news from a variety of sources so as to get a less-biased opinion.
  5. Have you ever been arrested? No. My mother would’ve killed me. Truth is, I’ve always been a rule-follower. Now, J and I were threatened with arrest one time in New Orleans when we stepped in front of the barricade during a parade to grab some beads or medallions or something. It’s weird what you’ll do to get useless plastic.

So there it is…feel free to answer in the forum. Make sure to wish my wife a happy birthday…and we’ll see you guys on Monday, if not sooner!

Currently listening to Hickory Jack by Luther Strong from The Music of Kentucky, Volume 2

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

