December 8, 2005

Ladies and Gentlemen…the French Toast Brigade will be arriving shortly.

You know who I mean. The crazies at the supermarket, stocking up on bread and milk for the impending 100-year blizzard, that will probably amount to not much more than a handful of snow across the Ohio Valley. You think I’m kidding. There will be at least one news crew, probably poor Chuck Olmsted, at some grocery store interviewing someone who has 3 loaves of bread and 2 gallons of milk in their car. And she will be 87 years old and live alone and have a son who lives in West Palm Beach.

Tomorrow, after the so-called snow, there will be an interview in the morning of a guy walking home from his third-shift job, that wasn’t cancelled because Corporate America needs it’s V-12 SUVs, with a case of beer “to stay warm” and then the health reporter will come on to tell you that alcohol only makes you colder, not warmer…and there will also be numerous reports about the dangers of shoveling snow. Which you wouldn’t do, if only the city knew how to keep the streets clear. Does this scenario happen in other cities…the ones that get lots of snow?

Anyway, this is really the first post I’ve been proud of since I re-started the website. I think it captures some of the vigor and vitality of my earlier youthful cynicism. Let me know what you think, but I think I’m back.

Christmas is barrelling toward us at an incredible rate…it should be here by the 21st. Naturally, we’re in full panic mode at the church, which is understandable considering how some of the music sounds. This, of course, leads us to yet another, “SATURDAY REHEARSAL”, which I loathe, but am pretty much required to attend.

Looking forward to some nice relaxing time during the holidays. I’m hoping to get even more books read than usual. I’m going to try and get some stuff downloaded to take home so that I can update over the break. It shouldn’t be too difficult, it’s just a matter of doing it.

RANDOM THOUGHTS

  • It’s pretty damn cold outside.
  • “Chronicles of Narnia” may be the best movie you see this holiday season.
  • Thank God for the Internet because I don’t remember what we did without it.
  • I miss bikini weather, but it’s nice not having to shave there. *laughing*

Anyway…I hope you don’t get snowed in. And if you do, I hope you have plenty of milk and bread. Me? I’ll be eating steak and potatoes.

See you in the funny papers.

Leave a Reply

