December 22, 2005

So this is Christmas / And what have you done / Another year over / And a new one just begun ~John Lennon 

I don’t really have the mental stamina required to take a look back over the past year. There are so many things that I will forget and barely remember the details of that I’m sure to miss something. Still, it’s worth it to note a few highlights:

  • The end of the Star Wars saga, or at the very least, the completion of it. Sure, the books will continue and there are rumors of a live-action television show…but for those of us who have lived our entire lives under the fear of the Empire and the hope of the Rebellion, it’s a sad moment.
  • My goddaughter was born on July 2 to my very best friends. Gabrielle Raye is a beautiful bundle of joy and those of you who know me, know I don’t dote on infants all that often. I’m extremely honored to be her “Godfather” and I only hope I can be as influential as my godmother was to me.
  • I celebrated my continued marital bliss to my lovely wife. We’ve been married for 2 years, 4 months, 18 days and roughly 15 hours. I wouldn’t change a single second of that time together. She’s been a completion of my life that I never imagined would be possible and I appreciate our every moment.

I am among the fortunate. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas holiday or whatever experience you wish to celebrate. I may be writing over the holidays, but I may not as well. Here’s to a wonderful new year in 2006. May you all get everything you wish for.

Currently listening to We Are Nowhere And It’s Now by Bright Eyes from I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

