January 18, 2006

This morning, I became a true runner. Now, there are two ways you can go with this. I can tell you that I got up at 5:45 a.m., got dressed and went out into the early morning snow with icy sidewalks and proceeded to run 2 miles Aside: at roughly 6 miles per hour and your reaction might be:
  • Wow! That’s dedicated. Good for you!
  • Wow! You’re fucking crazy. You need a brain scan.

Either way…I’d say you’re probably right. But, there was definitely something that I enjoyed this morning. The snow had blanketed my neighborhood in silence and the roads came alive under my feet as I pounded around the block. As it was my second day for training for the Louisville Triple Crown of Running, I needed to do it for myself. Plus, I think this is my year for the mini-Marathon. So occasionally, I’ll post updates about my training.

The new job is going well. I enjoy the folks I’m working with. We had a staff meeting yesterday, and I still hate meetings, but the job is going great.

I also became strictly a baseball fan yesterday. I turned my back on the Cardinal basketball team with 7 minutes left in last night’s debacle against the St. John’s Red Storm. I simply turned off the television and went to read. Only 30 days til pitchers and catchers report to spring training. Four days later full squads report. COME ON SPRING!

RANDOM THOUGHTS

  • It takes me just as long to drive to work as it does to ride my bike when you figure in stoplights, traffic and university parking.
  • I think I might finally be over whatever allergy I have had for a month.
  • I have no use for the Scotch tape dispenser on my desk.
  • I have 7 keys for my job and I have to try them all before I get the right one for my door.
  • Giving blood gives me a sense of purpose for humanity.

Currently listening to Madman by The Jayhawks from Rainy Day Music viaWERS

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

