February 3, 2006

It’s amazing. Truly amazing. Did you see the countdown clock on the front page? You know, the one in blue. It should be in blue anyway. If it’s not…please adjust your television set. We’re a little over one hundred days away from the FIFTH ANNIVERSARY of the Conspiracy of Happiness.For those of you who remember, it all started out with AaRants…the first being me going on about big tobacco and stupid people who smoke. It can still be read in the archives if you’re interested. Posts were few and far between back then. I think there were about 5 that first year, but it’s really been going strong since March of 2002.

Now, on to the FRIDAY FIVE, first one to post gets to punch me in the arm.

  1. Have you broken any New Year’s resolutions yet? Not really. I have been reading more and watching less television. I will say that I spent money on some sushi for lunch the other day which could be considered frivolous, but I was hungry and it was there and I have a weakness for sushi. I’m training for the Triple Crown and mini-Marathon, and I’ve still got 11 months to lose my 10 pounds…so I’d say I’m at least 3 3/4 out of four.
  2. Broken any bones? Yes…I broke my ankle in 1993. I was playing basketball and went up for the shot and came down on a kids’ foot. It rolled, , and that was the end of that. Also, I broke my hand in 2002 after falling off my bike. That was a long summer with a cast.
  3. When is the last time someone else broke your heart? I think the last time I had my heart broken was when I had to take Rufus to the vet. It was a day I won’t forget.
  4. What is the most expensive item you’ve ever broken? Well, I think my hand and ankle both qualify. I’ve never really broken anything else that was really expensive. I suppose it was the garage door window when I was learning to play tennis.
  5. What phrase are you tired of hearing over and over again? I’ve actually gotten tired of hearing myself say “It builds character” and “Kids these days”…but I suppose the words “nine-eleven” everytime President Bush gets on television are getting a little tiresome. “Nine-eleven” has become the catchphrase scapegoat for all the administration’s idiocy…and believe me there’s plenty of it.

Now for GOOD MUSIC/BAD MUSIC

Good Music: 16 Military Wives by The Decemberists
Bad Music: A Lover Like You by The Avett Brothers

Currently Listening to: Edie Carey live in the WERS Studio

We’ll see you next week. Stay tuned for information on my Geography project and for possible event reviews from the weekend. See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

