March 3, 2006

I don’t have a lot of time to write today. It’s one of those days at work. However, I’m gonna give you the Friday Five, a little GoodMusic/badmusic and a preview of something I’ll be working on.Friday Five
  1. If you could go back and relive one moment or day from your life, without changing anything, what would you re-experience? I’d relive one of the days Carrie and I spent at the bed and breakfast in South Africa. It was the most relaxed I’ve ever been. I can still remember almost everything about the experience…especially the cheesecake at Michaela’s.
  2. If you could witness a moment in history, again without changing anything, what would you want to see? I’d like to witness the signing of the Declaration of Independence. I think that might be very interesting.
  3. If you could talk to a younger version of yourself, what age would you visit and what message would you give? I’d visit myself as I graduated from high school and I’d simply discuss how important it is to be in school. And I’d only hope that I’d listen to me, because I certainly didn’t listen to anybody else.
  4. If you could choose one moment that would be guaranteed to happen in your future, what would it be and when would it happen? I’d love to see my son play shortstop for the Boston Red Sox and hit for the cycle against the Yankees in Fenway Park on the final day of the season to clinch the pennant.
  5. Pretend you left a time capsule for yourself 5, 10, 15, 20 or more years ago. You just opened it. What three things from your past are you now holding and what age were you when you buried them? The first thing would be my Boba Fett action figure, buried in 1980. The second thing would be my Mark McGwire rookie baseball card, buried in 1988. Finally, the third thing would be Freddie, my stuffed frog, buried in 1974.

Now for some GoodMusic/badmusic

GoodMusic: Sly Mongoose by Charlie Parker
badmusic: Cornflake Girl by Tori Amos

Currently listening to: Front Porch Song by Lyle Lovett via BootLiquor Radio

Finally, a preview of next week. I’m planning on watching the Oscars, which I don’t ordinarily do. I hate awards shows, but Jon Stewart is hosting and he’s hilarious. So, I thought I would provide a running commentary on all the excess. It should be filled with caustic wit and biting cynicism. And maybe my own little Mr. Blackwell’s best/worst dressed list.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

