March 31, 2006

This morning, just before I got up, I heard it. The deafening splash of rain across the city. For a bike commuter, this is roughly the end of the world. I had already made plans in my head to take the car, when suddenly it stopped. Turns out, karma Thank you Earl is a “greenie” and wanted me to take the bike today. And, really, after yesterday’s perfect day, it only makes sense.

Speaking of yesterday…I have heard it said that this city only gets four perfectdays a year. That was one of them, I hope you used it wisely. I myself went on a run. The famous “lost” run in search of the path to the East Indies. Well, okay, it’s really only a 6-mile loop through Cherokee Park, but even though I have it mapped out, I have yet to figure out how to run it. There are one too many turns and I think I left the park early this time instead of staying in it too long.

I’m turning in my Remote Sensing mid-term this morning. It’s strange to call it a mid-term since there are only 4 weeks or so left in the term, but hey, that’s how poorly this class has been taught. I also have a project due in GIS, which wasn’t going well as of yesterday, but I’m going to try again today if I have time.

Also…Happy Birthday to Scott! Scott, I’m using the Julian (Robecca) calendar, so your day is one day late.

Now for the Friday Five, the give away this week is a beautiful CD calledPrayers of a One Man Band by Bobby Brown. No, not the crazy Bobby Brown married to the drug addict…it’s a different one, but the music is just as good. Be the first, and possibly only, person on your block to own a copy by answering first in the forum.

FRIDAY FIVE

  1. Name one of your flaws: I have several I’m sure, most of which will probably be pointed out in other people’s answers, but the one I’m most poignantly reminded of on a consistent basis is my inability to finish things. I like to start projects, but I don’t necessarily like to finish them.
  2. Have you ever won first place? Um, well technically no. I have 0 first place ribbons in my collection. Wait…okay, when I was in kindergarten, I was the only kid to complete kindergarten with perfect attendance and I got a trophy. So, at least once I finished in first place
  3. Who was the last person to make you smile? My wife always makes me smile. I can just be sitting across the room from her and she makes me smile. She’s a wonderfully amazing person.
  4. Describe a time when you should have tried harder: I should have tried much harder in college. I’m making up for it now, but I should have really tried a lot harder to succeed the first time around.
  5. What are you good at? I’m good at a lot of things. I bridge generational gaps well. I play the piano fairly well and I sing pretty good. I’m good at running and riding my bike. I can make people laugh which also makes me good at getting my wife to roll her eyes. I’m also quite a good reader and speller. Hey, I’m pretty good at a lot of things.

GOODMUSIC/badmusic

GOODMUSIC: Do I Move You by Nina Simone
badmusic: Driving Along by Harry Nilsson

Currently listening to: Ellis Paul live in the WERS Studio

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

