April 27, 2006

My head feels like a dusty attic with a thousand steel drum players inside. My throat feels like I’ve taken to gargling with sandpaper. Myconsumption of OTC drugs and fluids has increased exponentially over the last 3 days. I hate allergies.

Actually, I should say that I don’t have allergies, per se. I do have an irritation of my throat and sinuses that occurs every spring around dogwood winter (Thanks Mom!) Some would say “dem’s allergies”. I would say that’s an incredibly inconvenient coincidence.

What really makes this an irritation is that I have to run 13.1 miles on Saturday. I sincerely hope that whatever this is has faded deep into the recesses by the time I have to lug my body to the starting gate. Speaking of which, if you happen to be anywhere near the race course on Saturday between 7:30 am and about 10:20-10:30 am, look for me. I’ll be the one running.

Today officially marks the end of the semester for me. My final project in GIS is due today and I had my final in Remote Sensing yesterday. I feel pretty confident about both. I expect no less than a B in either class which will significantly raise my GPA.

I’ve also found a new route to church which shaves about 5 miles off the drive. A new theory of mine is that I’ll be able to leisurely ride to and from church on Sundays on my bike and while it means getting home later and getting up earlier, I’ll be saving money on gas and wear and tear on the car. So hopefully, I’ll be able to bring my actual driving time down to 15 miles per week. This means I should only have to fill up the car every 3 months or so and even though it has 138K miles on it, it should last until my children are out of college. All of this is of course an attempt to be a little bit more conscientious about my use of natural resources. There were only so many dinosaurs and we’re about to run out of the fuel that their decaying matter provides…so until our government stops licking the boots of the automakers and starts requiring cars that have an alternate fuel source. Whew…Go Earth Day!

So anyway, that about covers it. Hopefully I’ll write tomorrow and I’ll feel better and all will be well. As for now, I’m going to curl up under my desk and go to sleep.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

