July 3, 2006

Happy 1st Birthday Gabrielle!

This is the lost day in the work week. It’s a Monday, sandwiched by the weekend, per usual, and a national holiday. You have to show up to work, but there’s not really much going on…so it’s sort of a black hole in the week. Waste of a nice day if you ask me. The good news is I’ve found a free music listening service courtesy of the Dwight Anderson Music Library at UofL. It has a wealth of music, so I shouldn’t be bored.

So, I’m shooting for a less esoteric, more engaging journal these days. I don’t want my audience to feel like they need to be involved in my life in order to get more out of my writing. I want it to appeal to a broad spectrum of the human experience. So, there will probably be less about me and my life personally and more about how life interacts with me.

In that vein, here are some things I’m going to try:

  • Visit the library more.
  • Spend more time with nature.
  • Gain insight into a world with less routine.
  • Become more community-active.

I have a goal for the end of July…and I’ll know more about how it’s going to turn out by the end of the week. So you’ll definitely want to stay tuned.

Quote of the Day

We did not change as we grew older; we just became more clearly ourselves.
Lynn Hall, Where Have All the Tigers Gone?, 1989

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

