September 15, 2006

Yesterday I sang at the funeral for a woman who lived to the ripe old age of 95. 95 is a lot of years, more than most of us will ever see. Even with advances in modern medicine and the ever growing life-expectancy, it is quite a feat to live that long. Still, there is a certain insistence on the part of death.I don’t want to dwell on death, mostly because it’s a Friday and I’m in a pretty decent mood. That, and death doesn’t really scare me. I don’t welcome it, but I do see it as just another part of the cycle.

The problem is, when is it “your time to go”? I hate the phrase because I don’t buy into a master plan where everyone is scheduled to shed their mortality at a preordained time. Still, I do think people live full lives (95) whereas others are cut short well before they’ve given their all. And I think that’s what we’re here for, to give all we have to give and then go. In the words of the great Huey Long, “God, don’t let me die. I have so much to do.”

So, here’s where you come in — I’m asking you to send me the top 3 things you want said at your funeral about you ( a little morbid, I know) and I’ll post them here anonymously. In the interest of full disclosure, here are my three:

  • He was an outstanding father. He always had time for his kids and there was never anything he wouldn’t do for them.
  • He and his wife loved each other with reckless abandon for these many years. Every moment with them was as though they had only been married the previous weekend.
  • He loved the land that he felt he was a part of. His desire to ensure that future generations enjoyed the earth as it was meant to be seen was unmatched.

The true test of time, however, will be a fulfillment of these words. Here’s to 95.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

