Travelling…the Friday Five

1) If you had to move 100 miles or more to the north, east, west, or south, which would you choose, where would you end up, and what’s so great about there? 100 miles, OR MORE, is the problematic issue with this question. Or More could be really far away, so let’s stick with 100 miles. 100 miles west would be Evansville…no thank you. 100 miles east would be Winchester, KY…no thanks. 100 miles directly south would be somewhere on the Tennessee border…not altogether bad, but not perfect. 100 miles north would be about Indianapolis and, of the 4, probably the best choice. It would be about as close to Louisville as you could be, without actually living in Louisville, as far as cities are concerned. I can think of no really good reasons to leave though.

2) Do you have a favorite stretch of highway or byway for driving, touring, or wandering?
Seriously, I just love to drive. I could get in my vehicle and drive for days. Recently I discussed driving up 421 from Frankfort to Hanover…that was a nice drive. There’s a nice stretch of road to Asheville on I-40. But, from Dayton to Toledo…awful!

3) Are you happier to start a trip or return home?
I’m much happier to be starting a trip…who wouldn’t be? The return home always bogs down when you enter that 100-mile buffer zone mentioned in number one. You’re so close, but you become so tired because you know you’re close.

4) Plane, train, automobile, bicycle, or foot?
What, no boat? Well, I think regular readers will know that plane is not my preferred mode of travel. I use it merely as a convenience. Paris is a long way by boat. I don’t know that I’ve ever ridden a train…unless you consider the subway. In which case, I love the subway. Automobile is pretty much the most used, although bicycle is making a serious comeback. I love riding my bike to work. I only use walking as a mode of transportation at work or if I have leisure time to go to the store for something simple. I also use my feet for recreation in running.

5) Do you overplan or underplan your travels? (Assume that “no” is not a valid answer.)
I never overplan. I like following the wind on my travels. However, this also leads to some underplanning, but usually that is all overcome by the experiences that I enjoy. The lack of planning is part of the experience and allows you to enjoy things you might have overlooked.

The Geekfest is this weekend. Get your party hats and Jedi robes on! See you in the funny papers!

Geekfest Invite

Leave a Reply

