Giving Thanks at Thanksgiving

The Feast of Turkey Slaughter is upon us. About 385 years ago, some immigrants came to this country looking for a better life. There wereTurkey no laws, there was no border fence; they probably didn’t even have liquids in their carry-on baggage. They came searching for a place where they could worship the god of their choosing without interference from “the administration.” They were, for the most part, welcomed by the established indigenous people and as a celebration of their ability to survive the year, they feasted together. They shared what they had with their new friends and family members, each giving of the bounty that their god had bestowed, regardless of color or creed. My, how times have changed.

In a couple days, I will circle a kitchen with family members I see twice a year. The countertops will be laden with so much food that a family twice our size couldn’t eat all of it. The usual arguments will be had, children will not eat, and we will all go home thankful for one thing…that it’s over. We will repeat this same experience in another month. So, I will settle for being thankful for the following:

  • I have a beautiful, intelligent, and talented wife that loves me.
  • I am healthy and employed and have a home.
  • I am three short semesters from finishing my degree.
  • I will soon have a niece/nephew who I hope is healthy and happy.
  • My parents are healthy and enjoy their retirement.

That said, I have to get back to work. It’s a short week and I’ve got a ton of stuff on my “to don’t” list. I hope you have a fabulous holiday weekend, provided that you celebrate Thanksgiving. If not, be thankful anyway.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

