Say “Uncle!”

It’s entirely possible that I will become an uncle today. The mere thought boggles the mind. For one, I didn’t think my sister would ever have children. She and I were both dead set against having children when we were younger. The pressure, the expense, the mess…just not worth it. I’m still not entirely convinced that it’s a good idea, but I’m warming to the concept. Second, she married a good guy who I also thought was not entirely in the “let’s-have-kids” camp…but apparently I was wrong. So today, at some unknown moment, I will become an uncle. Nobody knows what it is, it’s a surprise. I’m hoping it’s twins! *laughing*

So where does that leave me? I’m not a huge fan of babies or children. I get along fine with them, but I just don’t go insane over a newborn. People always say that it will be different when I have my own, which I plan to someday, but I don’t know. I just don’t see the big deal. People have been having babies for eternity…what makes mine cuter or more intelligent than the rest? Nothing really. Although, I met a guy once who said he was in the same boat, then his son was born and instantly, after having the child placed in his arms, he felt an animal-like instinct to protect this baby at all costs; to surrender all that he had ever gained in pursuit of making a place in this world for his new child.

Well…I suppose that’s what makes it worth it. We’ll see.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

