Cool College Kid

Cool College Kid by Big Cheez

I am a Cool College Kid. Actually, at this point in my life, I’m a Cold College Man. How about winter folks? Didn’t I say it was coming? Don’t make me look up the post. I’ll do it. Mostly because I’m ignoring my work at the moment. And, anybody who’s been attending college as long as I have is no longer a kid. I’m just sayin’.

Anyway, I’ve got a few things to write about today:

  • Global Warming <<read more>> is real and it’s coming to your neighborhood. If you don’t believe this, you probably think that the earth is only 6,000 years old. Please wake up, put down the keys to your Suburban Excavator and start paying attention. If we don’t start doing something right now about the warming of the earth, needing SPF 712 is going to be the least of your worries.
  • Funding for education is something that should be on the top of your priority list. Everybody reads about tuition hikes and thinks, “Well, if you want an education you have to pay for it.” It’s no longer a matter of want. We NEED an education if we want to compete in the global economy. Plus, for what our little debacle in Iraq has cost us, we could’ve given out almost 40 million scholarships to university students.
  • If you think education is a waste of time, maybe you would consider healthcare an important issue. People are dying because of lack of services and the increased gap between what I pay and what the health insurance industry pays is ridiculous. Not to mention that our little skirmish in Iraq could have given health insurance to over 46 million people.
  • And for those of you who think that this is all liberal claptrap trumped up by the ivory-towered academics who certainly don’t know what the “real world” is like…let me just say that all of this information came from reading the news, or from my own personal life, or from websites that are not funded by “conflicted interest” parties.

Yeah, apparently I’m in one of “those” moods. It’s just aggravating to say the least that our country, not to mention the world, continues to ignore the larger issues at hand and simply focuses on reacting to nonsense.

Trashtalk of the day: Ayman al-Zawahiri in his latest video dares the U.S. to “send entire American Army.” Well, if Bush doesn’t get out of office soon…it may come to that.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

