Tambourines and Elephants

The above title has nothing whatsoever to do with this post.  If you came looking for tambourines or elephants, you’re unlikely to find either.

The Friday Five this week is for my bon-bon eating, Oprah-watching, stay-at-home sister because she’s only got one week left before she goes back to work and she might as well have something to do today:

1. Given a choice, and imagining that money and time were no object, would you rather cook dinner, eat out or order in? Money and time are no object?  Please, I would so eat out.  Why would you do anything else?  I don’t cook as well as professionals and anything you can order in is just as good as something you might prepare yourself…so you should definitely go out for dinner.  And if you need recommendations, let me know…I can think of wonderful places to eat.
2. What is the most elaborate meal you’ve ever prepared yourself or purchased at a restaurant? The most elaborate meal I’ve ever purchased has to be when John, Angie and I went to New York and we ate at the Rainbow Room for dinner one night.  I had the lobster thermidore for dinner and creme brulee for dessert.  The ambience and the food made the evening unforgettable.  It also made it one of the most expensive meals I’ve ever had.  Now, the most elaborate meal I’ve ever prepared was mine and C’s first Valentine’s Day which was about 11 days after we had started dating.  I went out and bought chicken and fresh broccoli and rice and even wine to make her a candlelight dinner at my place.  It took me a long time to make that meal.

3. What food do you find yourself making and/or eating way too much? I eat way too much food that’s not good for me.  I’ve been known to eat chips or crackers for dinner. We tend to eat a lot of risotto which is probably not good for us.  You know, anything without a lot of vegetables or with a lot of fat grams.  That’s generally what I find myself eating way too much.
4. What was your most disastrous cooking/eating out experience? I have two stories for this one.  First off, the most famous one, is when my mom had gone back to work and we were basically left to fend for ourselves in the kitchen.  She had set some bean soup in a crockpot that morning and it was to be ready to go for dinner that night.  Well, my dad and sister and I all sat down that evening for dinner and got ourselves big bowls of soup.  The beans were literally crunchy and my sister quickly decided it wasn’t for her.  I just figured it was al dente and kept eating and my dad thought nothing of it.  After a few more bites, I decided that I really wasn’t all for crunchy beans, so I passed on anymore.  Dad continued to extol the virtues of this soup and finished his bowl.  When Mom got home, she fixed herself a bowl and after one bite proclaimed it uncooked and we realized that the crockpot was broken.  To this day, we claim my father will eat anything.

The second story was when I had first moved out of the house and was cooking on my own for basically the first time.  I cooked myself a casserole in the oven.  Well, when it was done, I went to get it out of the oven and I didn’t have a pot holder, so I grabbed a tea towel instead.  Well, as I used the towel to grab the pot, the fringe of the towel caught fire on the oven heating element.  I basically tossed the casserole onto the counter and held the fiery towel.  Realizing I needed to get rid of it, I tossed it into the air.  It hit the kitchen floor, still burning, mere inches from my new carpet.  I realized that if it continued to burn, it would set fire to the linoleum, so I grabbed it again, still flaming, and threw it into the sink.  The casserole was good, but disaster had nearly claimed more than just a towel.

5. Would you rather cook for someone else or have them cook for you? I think I’d rather have someone else cook for me.  Especially my mother because she’s been doing it for so long.  But I really enjoy cooking for other people provided that it’s leisurely and not on a schedule or anything.  I’ve been given rave reviews for my cooking…especially my Spicy Peanut Chicken.

And that’s the Friday Five…which is about all I have time for.  Ang, get off the couch and do something.  Angie, this should give you something to do for the next hour or so.  Everyone else…

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “Tambourines and Elephants

  1. 1. Given a choice, and imagining that money and time were no object, would you rather cook dinner, eat out or order in?
    I’d eat out, DUH! No since having John cook. 😉 And the only thing you can really “order in” is pizza, which is fine occassionally but I’d prefer being served. 🙂

    2. What is the most elaborate meal you’ve ever prepared yourself or purchased at a restaurant? The most elaborate meal I purchased at a restaurant would probably be the most expensive one when John, Aaron, and I went to NYC and ate at the Rainbow Room. I had lamb chops (!!!) I’ve never eaten it before or since. I just remember all of us in awe of our surroundings and the fact we had 6 waiters to our table, each with a specific task. What the hell do you tip a head waiter!?

    Any meal I prepare is elaborate since I hardly ever prepare a meal. But let me be clear…its not that I can’t cook, I just don’t enjoy it.

    3. What food do you find yourself making and/or eating way too much? Making?
    I eat probably more cheeseburgers for lunch than I should.

    4. What was your most disastrous cooking/eating out experience?
    Before we got our new stove we had this horrible old one. Every cooking experience would be a disaster. I believe it turned me off to cooking entirely because when I did ever try to make something it would be burnt or was undercook. I would make a cake and it would be lop-sided. Cassaroles would be burnt on the bottom and cold in the center. Once we had to run a pie crust over to Carrie & Aaron’s to use their stove. It was horrible. I demanded we get a new stove which is fabulous but I’ve have yet to cook anything. I’m stove shy.

    5. Would you rather cook for someone else or have them cook for you?
    You’ve got to be joking. Read previous answers.

Leave a Reply

