News and not-so News

Today, I’m gonna focus on various news items that caught my eye. For better or worse, this is the sort of crap that gets passed off as “newsworthy” ’round these parts.

  • Challenged on the accuracy of U.S. intelligence, President Bush said Wednesday there is no doubt the Iranian government is providing armor-piercing weapons to kill American soldiers in Iraq. But he backed away from claims the top echelon of Iran’s government was responsible. ~AP White House correspondent Terence Hunt Okay, seriously…is this guy really this reprehensibly stupid? We always hear about the “President’s advisors”, are they seriously advising him that this is a good idea? We’re still tiptoeing around the lions in the den over in Iraq and Afghanistan, and this guy wants to poke the biggest lion. Oh, will 2008 get here soon enough?Old Man
  • Anna Nicole Smith Could this story have been any more overblown? A two-bit golddigger known only for a variety of court cases, her Playboy appearances, and an apparent inability to speak coherently. Yet, she died (probably from an overdose) and networks across the country spend hours upon hours detailing her every breath. We get less coverage on the war in Iraq these days. I sincerely hope that CNN’s Wolf Blitzer has uninterrupted coverage of my death. Oh, but wait, I work for a living, so that’s probably not going to happen. Still, had she been a Derby-winning horse, they might have tried harder to save her.
  • Rising tuition at Kentucky universities is pushing higher education beyond the reach of many residents, according to a study released yesterday by State Auditor Crit Luallen. That ultimately will undermine the state’s efforts to double the number of Kentuckians with four-year college degrees by 2020, slowing economic development and lowering residents’ earning potential, the study said. ~Nancy Rodriguez, The Courier-Journal Well, duh! If you continue to raise the price in a state that is known for its poverty, obviously less people are going to be able to attend. Apparently, tuition has gone up 128% in the last 8 years. I can tell you that my salary hasn’t gone up that much in the last 8 years. As a matter of fact, after some quick calculations, my salary has gone up 66% in that same period and that’s only because I’ve job-hopped twice. First they tell you that you need a degree. Then they jack up the price on getting that degree. Finally, they complain about the lack of people getting degrees. If my salary had kept up with the tuition rate, I’d be making almost as much as if I’d gone to work at Ford, where people are losing their jobs left and right. The term “no-win” comes to mind.
  • The Senate Transportation Committee yesterday approved a bill that would raise the speed limit on rural parts of Kentucky’s interstate highways to 70 miles per hour, from the current 65 mph. Committee chairman Brett Guthrie, R-Bowling Green, said he will amend the bill on the Senate floor so it also would raise the limit to 70 mph on rural stretches of four-lane parkways.Tom Loftus, The Courier-Journal Finally! Why hasn’t this happened before now?! I mean, we consistently have about 980 highway deaths a year, so I can’t imagine that changing it to 70 mph is going to make much difference. Plus, the increase in CO2 from the Ford F-250s and Excursions traveling to see Tubby and the ‘Cats blow another one shouldn’t have much effect on the atmosphere. Hmm…am I for this or against this? I like to drive faster, but I can’t see how 5 mph is really gonna make that much difference. Let’s boost it up to 90 mph. That would make it worth my while I suppose.

So, that’s my Andy Rooney impression for the day. I guess that this extremely long week and the lack of heat outside is seriously harshing my buzz, man! Either that, or I’m just becoming cranky at an early age.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “News and not-so News

Leave a Reply

