Midterm Madness

Yessiree, nothing like midterms.  I had my Advanced Quantitative Methods midterm on Monday.  I was handed the test at the door and I satThe Vegetarian down and wrote and calculated like mad Einstein for a solid 75 minutes.  When I finished (I was the 3rd person to leave), my eyes burned from not blinking.  Some people, I heard later, worked for 2 and a half hours on the exam.  I felt pretty good about the exam.  Unfortunately, I got a C (74%) which is above the class average and some of my mistakes were minor mathematical miscues.  And the test is only worth 15% of the final grade, but still it rather bummed me out.  I was in a funk most of yesterday after I got my test back.   So to get back in the saddle, I took another midterm this morning…in Climatology.  I don’t feel nearly as good about this test, so maybe I’ll do better.  I did the first half okay, but the second half was pretty brutal.  Essay questions with no real end…I mean, really…”discuss the adiabatic processes as they relate to the thermal and moisture atmospheric” blah, blah, blah.  It was like getting the proverbial “Write history of the world in detail.  Provide examples.”

In other news, my vegetarianism is going gangbusters…although, I was really craving a burger yesterday.  What really tests this theory is the fact that I can’t have fish.  I could probably go ichthygetarian, but no meat at all is tough.  Especially when you don’t like lentils.  However, I have managed to at least maintain my protein intake with soynuts and sunflower seeds.  I also have rekindled my love affair with peanut butter and jelly…on whole grain bread.

My running doesn’t seem to have suffered from lack of cow or pig.  I ran the Run to the Sun on Saturday in a blistering 37:50 according to Darwin the Garmin (official time was listed at 39:51, which was a gun to clock time, not taking into account my starting position).  So, the March to the Mini continues, although I’m really going to have to increase my long runs by which I mean, do some if I intend to maintain a decent pace for the half-marathon.

The picture at the top of the blog is one I took at Jefferson Memorial Forest on the Siltstone Trail on the way to Scott’s Gap. I like trying out new looks to the website.  I know it can be disorienting to see a different layout each time you come to the site, but hey, it’s at the very least entertaining.

See you in the funny papers!

7 thoughts on “Midterm Madness

  1. I like the new picture. I usually read with Google Reader, so I wouldn’t have noticed the new layout if you hadn’t mentioned it.

    I can’t imagine passing any class called Advanced Quantitative Methods or Climatology. Good Lord.

    Have you tried edamame? Probably, but it’s my new favorite thing. Steamed with a little sea salt is my favorite, but I can’t find it at my podunk Kroger, so I’ve to settle with roasted edamame. Excellent source of soy protein.

  2. Well Quant Methods is really just statistics. And Climatology is really just advanced weather. I say both of those with tongue in cheek. They’re obviously more difficult than that, but I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and doggone it, I should be able to pass them with at least a “C”.

    Edamame is good…but I can only get it at Whole Foods where you have to have a gold card to shop. Like a real gold card…they just shave a few ounces off to purchase your food with. Oh, if only eating healthy were as inexpensive as ordering pizza or hot wings.

  3. “no meat at all is tough. Especially when you don’t like lentils.”

    I’m not a big fan of lentils, either. But that doesn’t stop me from being Vegan! The best advice I got was “eat the colors of the rainbow” and you’ll be ok w/nutrition. Black beans, spinach, blue berries, soy beans, all great stuff!

    You might really like the “fake” meat selections in the vegetarian department – there are burger crumbles & other imitation meats. Personally, I’m not a big fan because they remind me too much of the real thing, but my husband likes them a lot.

    Glad I stumbled onto your blog this morning! Best of luck! I love hearing stories from new vegetarians.

  4. Lisa, I’m glad you enjoy the blog, although, I’m not becoming vegetarian. I did it merely as an exercise for Lent. It’s not really for me because I REALLY like bacon. Although, I do enjoy the items from Boca. They seem to be really good. Don’t stop reading though…non-vegetarians are fun & cool too. And, may I recommend the Organic Grocery Deals website on the right. They’re your kind of people.

    BTW, I love the name of your blog…Oboe-Wan, that’s great.

Leave a Reply

