The Perfect Day

There used to be a beer commercial a while back with manly-men sitting around a blazing fire tossing back a few brews, having recently just gutted a fish or slaughtered a deer, exclaiming that “it just doesn’t get any better than this.”  I believe I know what they mean.  Currently, we’re experiencing a wealth of beautiful weather in the Ohio Valley and as the recipient of Mother Nature’s good side, I can only respond…it just doesn’t get any better than this.

Currently, I’m sitting on my porch swing, a weeping cherry blooming in full view in the neighbor’s yard, a soft breeze caressing the slightest of melodies from surrounding wind chimes and I am content.  A beautiful blue sky, painted with clouds whose scientific names I once knew, hovers above the tops of the houses receiving the waning daylight.  The stillness is broken only by the songs of a host of different birds and even the neighbor’s obnoxious motorcycle cannot deter me from my primaveric* reverie.  I’m sipping the last of a winter ale as if to say goodbye to the cold earth.  I welcome back the dawning of a new season as I rock slowly back and forth watching the cat roll gently on the concrete.

It is as though all is right with the world, even though I know that in many places there are children who will never know a day of peace such as this one.  I would hope for this day to never end, but I know it will and that’s fine because it merely means that another one, hopefully very similar, but not the same, will follow it at some point in the future.  I look forward to that day and I hope that the world has progressed to the point where more people, maybe even all people, will be able to enjoy the peace and joy that I have experienced on this afternoon.

*Primaveric is a word I made up.  I wanted to convey the notion of Spring-like, but I felt that they hyphenation was lacking in beauty.  Weird, I know.  Anyway, the Spanish word for Spring is Primavera.  It more than makes up for the ugly hyphen.  Feel free to add it to your lexicon.  Or don’t, it’s all the same to me.

Leave a Reply

