A new season

Can you smell it? Yeah, that’s it…breathe it in, deep. It’s like the feeling you get right before a thunderstorm when everythingBaseball is crisp and your senses are fiery. Close your eyes, picture yourself there. The open expanse of grass, the smooth feel of leather beneath your fingertips, the warm sun bearing down on you as you step across the lime onto the field. Yes…it’s baseball season. Opening Day is Sunday and that begins a tour of 162 days through the greatest season of the year. I’m so excited I can barely stand it. Every year I get like this and I practically want to leap out of my skin at the prospect of a new year. I love baseball. And, until late September, early October, I’m going to bore you with it. Unless you’re a fan, then come on down, have a beer, and we’ll discuss bizarre statistics until we can’t see straight.

In other news, I’m still running. I haven’t written much about it lately because I haven’t been running much. The workload at school has been getting to me. I have a project due in a month and I’m dreading working on it. Anyway, I’m running…tomorrow…ten miles. I should be fine. I’m not worried about it. The good thing about running is you can continue to do it and you don’t have to worry about lugging your equipment home. You’re usually wearing all of it. It’s not like a flat tire on a bicycle or a car that’s out of gas. If you live close to me, there’s an image in this morning’s paper of the route we’ll run. If you’re out and about tomorrow, look for me, I’ll be the one with the running shoes. Ha, ha!

Also, Holy Week begins on Sunday, Palm Sunday that is. I’m doing three services that day, so if you’re bored come on down and look me up. I’ll be the one in the choir robe. Ha, ha! I have 3 services on Palm Sunday, a choir rehearsal on Wednesday, a service on Thursday, a service at a different church on Friday, and 2 services on Easter. That’s right, I’m “holier-than-thou”. Right now, I have enough “frequent choir” miles to go straight to heaven. Do not pass go, do not collect $200.

And now…the Friday Five:

1. If you could suddenly speak one language fluently (that you don’t currently speak) what would it be? I think I would choose French. I like the sound of French as it rolls out of the mouth. I already have Spanish (mostly) and I think French would be a good addition. I might also like Mandarin, being as how there are more Chinese in the world than anyone, but I think I would enjoy French more.

2. If you were to suggest a foreign film, that you really enjoyed, what one would you suggest? I absolutely love L’auberge Espagnole. It’s about several foreign students gathered in Spain for a semester of education, well, I guess it’s more about the one student and his relationships with everyone else, but it’s a really good film. We have a copy somewhere. Also, if you’re reading this and you have my copy of “Hoosiers”, I’d really like to have it back. I can’t for the life of me remember where that film went.

3. If you had to call another country home (other than the one you currently live in) what one would you choose? Well, I’ve really only had experience with four other countries to have any real sort of comparison. I loved the climate of South Africa, the weather climate, not the political climate. I loved the history and bustle of France, although I might get tired of the tourist thing, but never the butter or the cheese. Plus, then my fluency from #1 would really come in handy. I didn’t see much of Canada, but it seemed a lot like here with a better transit system. And Mexico, well, I could definitely get used to Mexico provided I was able to stomach the water and live in the Yucatan. Still, I think I would choose France. It seemed the best choice. I don’t think I could choose a country sight unseen.

4. If you went out to buy an import music CD, what one would you buy? I would definitely get either Irish traditional music or something by Ali Farka Toure, I think he was from Mali. Both of those would be good choices for import CDs.

5. If you were to chose an ethnic dinner, what would it be? Now this is difficult. I love all sorts of food from all over the world. I love Pad Ke Mao from Thailand. I love Dublin Coddle from Ireland. I could definitely go for more springbok from South Africa, and some biltong to go with that. I enjoy fresh French bread and butter, with a little wine to wash it down. And, I’ve even been known to enjoy the curry and lentils from India and doro wat with injera from Ethiopia. I think I would love to have a dinner that encompassed the United Nations.

That about does it. See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “A new season

  1. 1. If you could suddenly speak one language fluently (that you don’t currently speak) what would it be? I would want to learn Filipino. I can speak some of the words, but I cannot speak it in conversation. That way when we go to Filipino functions I will know when people are talking about us.

    2. If you were to suggest a foreign film, that you really enjoyed, what one would you suggest? Seven Samurai, very long and slow at times, but different and complelling.

    3. If you had to call another country home (other than the one you currently live in) what one would you choose? It would definitely be Australia. I have always wanted to see the Barrier Reef, Uluru Rock, Sydney Opera House, and visit Alice Springs in the Outback. I have lived my life north of the equator, I want to see what it is like south of it.

    4. If you went out to buy an import music CD, what one would you buy? It would be music from the Middle East. When you hear it, you can feel the soul of a nation that has carved out existence for centuries in the sand of the desert

    5. If you were to chose an ethnic dinner, what would it be? I would like to try Sushi in Japan or real Chinese food in Shanghai, not the stuff they serve in America.

  2. My mom has invited me to a Holy Thursday mass that will be totally in Latin. She said to me, “You’ve never been to a Latin mass?!” with total surprise in her voice. She forgets that I wasn’t born until well after Vatican II, I suppose.

    I’ll go for her and because it should be pretty interesting.

  3. I think I’d be interested in a Latin mass as well. I’ve never been to one either. Let me know how it goes. Maybe I’ll search one out here in town, if there is such a thing anymore. I know I can get one in Spanish.

Leave a Reply

