Life is a highway

I ran today. I ran ten miles, which if you’ve never run 10 miles, is a long way. I’ve run 10 miles before and it’s not easy. And, in the interest of full disclosure, I’ve never really run that far. I’ve run most of it, but I usually walk some. Today, I ran the Papa John’s 10-miler and I finished in 1:53:55 which, for those of you can’t do math, is pretty slow in the running world. It’s about a minute slower per mile than my race two weeksPapa John's 10-miler ago. It doesn’t put me in the top 50% of my age group. Still and all, it was better than my race last year. And, it was more effort than you put into your Saturday. Plus, to top it off, I mowed the yard when I got home, so there. And, as my wife will attest, I really didn’t train all that hard for it. Even when she insisted that I should be running instead of eating the last of the Triscuits. So, I only have myself to blame. But honestly, if you’ve seen the course, it really is very difficult for a person to run that far.

We started at Kroger at 3rd and Central and ran south to Iroquois Park, into the park and around the 3-mile loop which is chock full of hills (Damn you, Olmsted!)…but here’s the worst part in my opinion…the long trip north on Southern Parkway/3rd Street. It’s like the longest, straightest, flattest street in the world (even though it doesn’t look that way on the map). It seems as if they’re adding on to it as you run. Then there’s that final hill at Central Avenue…and to add insult to injury, once you’ve entered the stadium, you still have to run around the field.

I know, it sounds as if I don’t enjoy it. There are parts of it that I don’t, but I think, for me, the best part is the competition and the feeling of accomplishment. I ran 10 miles today. And, it was a beautiful day to run 10 miles. I’d do it all over again, just not tomorrow or anything.

In addition, there is an ulterior motive. I’m training for the mini-Marathon (March to the Mini update) and that requires an effort of 13.1 miles, which, based on last years’ run, makes this one seem like a walk in the park. It’s amazing how much further 5 kilometers is. But there’s nothing like receiving that medal at the end of the run. “Congratulations, you ran far and made it. We appreciate the effort.”

But now, I’m resting comfortably on the couch and I’ll be able to sit all day tomorrow and relax.

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

