The Ice Man Cometh, Spring Edition

In Paris, just down the hill from our hotel, there was a little boulangerie. It was just across the street from a fresh flower shopFresh Bread that had the best smell…that is, until you got into the boulangerie. The smell of fresh bread…I mean, literally, freshly baked bread that morning, probably in that very shop was intoxicating. Every morning, I would walk down the hill to the boulangerie and, in mangled French, purchase “deux pain au chocolat” from the meek “mademoiselle” and then trudge back up the hill to the hotel to share that morning’s breakfast with the love of my life. It was the perfect way to start the day and I miss it very much.

Especially so this morning. The alarm went off and I begged it to stop several times before finally rising in the cold to start my day. I hopped on my bike and cursed the cold as the wind whipped across my face during the downhill portion of my ride. I only had time to kiss my wife goodbye before leaving, much less share breakfast. I want to be Parisian again.

In other, less depressing, news, today is the day when the world gets its first glimpse at Daisuke Matsuzaka on the major league stage. Granted, if you haven’t heard Dice-Kabout this guy, you’re possibly the last person on earth who hasn’t. He’s the Japanese pitching phenom that the Red Sox basically paid $100 million for; the one with the supposed ‘gyroball’ pitch that is probably not even real; the one whose every move has been documented on two continents for the past four months. Still, if you need help with that…I have a picture. He’s pitching against the Kansas City Royals this afternoon at roughly 2:20 p.m. Parade to follow the game…most likely. Boston hasn’t been this jazzed about something since Paul Revere rode a horse through town in the middle of the night.

If you want to be one of the cool kids, his nickname is “Dice-K”, which is very hip-hop/bling sounding and has the added element of having a baseball term (K is for strikeout). So, when everybody’s standing around the narthex on Easter Sunday, you can discuss Dice-K’s pitching prowess. Don’t be caught standing there smelling the lilies.

See you in the funny papers.

2 thoughts on “The Ice Man Cometh, Spring Edition

  1. I love the picture you have taken of the bread–may I use it in my power point presntation for training food coop individuals? I would credit you. This course is not being sold–and I am going to place it on the internet so others can train their food coop individuals. Let me know. Thanks!
    Cindy

  2. Cindy…it’s not my photo. As a matter of fact, I borrowed it from the web. If you right click on the photo and view the image, it will show you the web address of the place where I borrowed it. It’s somewhere in France. Thanks for the offer though.

Leave a Reply

