The Run is the thing.

Admittedly, I don’t have a lot of long-term focus. It has taken me an inordinate amount of time to complete a degree of higher learning from my alma mater. I have the most meager of skills at playing the organ, because I only managed about a month or two worth of lessons before my teacher left town and I didn’t bother finding a new one. And my gardening skills lasted roughly a half a year, then I just let the tomatoes take over the yard. So, I don’t have the best track record for accomplishing tasks that I start.Papa John’s 10 Miler, 2007

However, running is something that I set goals for and accomplish. Last year, my goal was to finish the half marathon (which I did). This year the goal was to run faster (every race has set a new PR) and to finish the half marathon in 2:30 or less (still to be decided). So, apparently, I can set goals and carry through, but it has to be on my terms. Unfortunately, there are not a lot of opportunities in life for you to set goals and complete them on your own terms, there are always someone else’s rules to follow. Even my Lenten sacrifice of meat for 40 days ran into some issues with the “rules” laid down by various religious sects as to what constitutes the 40 days, is Sunday a feast-day and therefore not part of the 40 days, do I still have to abstain from meat during those 40 days. This is merely an example…and a minor one at that. Because honestly, I don’t think God cares if I eat bacon on the 40th day or the 45th day, or at all really.

So, not that I really had a point when I started this post, I’m basically just rambling about goals and the need or desire to finish them. See me at the finish line on April 28. March to the Mini update

See you in the funny papers.

7 thoughts on “The Run is the thing.

  1. Your first paragraph could have been written by or about me (minus the degree part, I’m still paying on those four years and will be forever).

    When is the mini? The Saturday before Derby? My good friend ran it the past two years and had a good time. I’m still working on a 5K, so I give you lots of props for doing the mini. Good luck!

  2. The mini is April 28 at the ungodly hour of 7:30 a.m. I finished last year which was all I was aiming for, and it was a serious rush of blood to the head (to quote a phrase). Nothing like crossing the finish line…for any race.

    Best of luck on your 5K…and for such a good cause as well. Tip #1: If it’s a road race, and you’re only training on a treadmill, switch to training on the road as soon as possible because shin splints will occur. Also, don’t try to run too much too soon. For a 5K, you can run every 3rd day and still be in good shape by the time your race rolls around.

  3. I’m following a slow-but-sure training program. Once I complete that, I’ll switch to road training. I’m currently terrified of running in plain sight of anyone! Shin splints are the pits.

Leave a Reply

