Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut, whose dark comic talent and urgent moral vision in novels like “Slaughterhouse-Five,” “Cat’s Cradle” and “God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater” caught the temper of his times and the imagination of a generation, died Wednesday night in Manhattan.

More about the story here

I only ever read one book by Kurt Vonnegut. It was “Slaughterhouse-Five” and to be honest, I don’t think I understood it. I tend to take things too literally and very rarely do I find the allegory in stories. It’s possible that Mr. Vonnegut was beyond me. I’ve heard that “Breakfast of Champions” is a good read and maybe at some point I’ll pick that one up. Not today, as my shelf is currently overloaded with books that have been loaned, borrowed, or bought that I may never finish reading.

Still, I think it’s important that we cherish great writers and what they offer to the world. I think too often we’re caught up in the fast world of entertainment and advertisement and we fail to notice the true genius of those whose art requires a little more effort. So with that in mind, I challenge you to pick up any Vonnegut book this month and read something that could change your view of the world.

In other news, 3294 American servicemen and women have been killed in Iraq since the beginning of the occupation of that country on March 19, 2003.  So it goes.

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “Kurt Vonnegut

  1. I read the short story called “Harrison Bergeron” in high school. You want to read about PC and equality gone amuck, this is the one. The story takes place in the future and nobody is smarter or physically better then anyone else.

  2. I read Galapagos for a class in college and I met Mr. Vonnegut during one of his speaking engagements at Midway College when I was in high school. He was a personality and seemed like he would be good for hours of intense, interesting conversation. I’m sad to hear of his passing.

    There is a house in my town that has four huge numbers in the front yard. Today, I’m sure they read 3294. It makes me incredibly sad every single time I drive by.

  3. Hey Guinness,
    Like you and a lot of others, I wanted to post something in memoriam to Vonnegut over on my Gravy Bread website, but I felt underqualified. I think I only read three of his books (including “Slapstick” and “God Bless You Mr. Rosewater”, both of which I vaguely remember enjoying), but only “Slaughterhouse Five” was the one that really stuck with me. I’d put it in my top 30. Its humor is right up my alley. But I read it more than 20 years ago and so couldn’t offer an informed assessment for the purpose of honoring him. Not so well known is that a film version of the book was made in 1972, and it was surprisingly pretty good, considering that the book is unfilmable. – Evan G

Leave a Reply

