List O’ Books and more

The directions:

Look at the list of books below.

  • Bold the ones you’ve read.
  • Italicise the ones you want to.
  • Asterisk the movie adaptations you’ve seen.
  • Don’t do anything to the ones that you aren’t interested in.

1. The Da Vinci Code (Dan Brown)*
2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)*
3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)*
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)*
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)*
7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)*

8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10. A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)*
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)*
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Rowling)*
17. Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling)*
20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)*
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks) (unfortunately)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand) (okay, most of it, but not all of it)
34. 1984 (Orwell)
35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. Bible (okay, again, most of it, but not all of it…and I think I’ve seen several movie depictions of several stories)
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens)*
55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)*

56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)*
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. War and Peace (Tolstoy)
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)*
65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Victor Hugo)*
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)*
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78. The World According To Garp (John Irving)*
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)*
81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)*
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMavrier)
84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)*
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce)

And if that weren’t enough…

1.Introduce yourself:
I’m Aaron, proprietor of this piece of the web. I go by the moniker Guinness74.

2. It’s Wednesday at noon, where are you usually?
At work. My lunch hour is usually later.

3. What kind of laundry detergent do you use?
Tide at the moment. But I could be swayed.

4. What brand of shampoo is in your shower right now?
Suave, the two-in-one shampoo/conditioner that saves me time and money.

5. Did you ever get into a bar and drink before you were 21?
Yes, I got into Phoenix Hill Tavern at age 17 to see Leon Redbone. Thanks Greg!

6.Do you watch MTV anymore?
Not since they stopped playing music.

8. What do you think about Oprah?
I think she interrupts people too much, but I think she has a good heart and spirit and the money with which to get things done.

9.What color are your bedsheets?
Well, we have a set of off-white, white, red flannel, light green (I think), and then there are a couple sets upstairs that I don’t know the color of.

10. You need a new pair of jeans..what store do you go first?
Wherever C takes me, ’cause honestly, I prefer her opinion of how I look in jeans to my own opinion.

11. have you ever watched the O.C.?
No, and thank goodness, and I don’t ever intend to…not even accidentally.

12. What kind of car do you drive?
I drive a 2003 Giant hybrid bike. And then when I need to drive, I drive a mid-90s Honda Civic.

13. Honestly, is that car insured?
Yes.

14. Do you like sushi?
I could really just sit down at Maido and eat from cover to cover on their menu. That’s how much I love sushi.

15. Have you ever been to Tiffany & Co. or Saks 5th Ave?
I’ve walked by Tiffany & Co., that’s about it.

16. Did your parents spoil you growing up?
I wouldn’t say I was spoiled. But, I recall many moments from my life when I got what I needed and several times things I wanted when I know we didn’t have the money for that sort of thing.

17. Do you like roller coasters?
No. Although, I did like that Thunder Mountain railroad ride at Disneyworld.

18. What magazine(s) do you buy regularly or subscribe to?
None anymore. We’ve curtailed our magazine habit significantly.

19. Favorite childhood cartoon?
The one where Daffy Duck is Robin Hood and Porky Pig is Friar Tuck. I swear that’s the best cartoon of all time.

20. When you go out do you prefer to go to a dance club or to a bar where you can chill with friends?
I can barely remember the last time I went out, but I think it was a bar. I hate dancing.

21. What do you think about gay marriage?
I can’t believe it’s such an issue for people.

22. Who do you think will be the next president?
Just so long as it’s not someone named Bush.

23. Are you registered to vote?
Yes, proudly.

24. Do you own an iPod?
I do have an iPod that I run with.

25. Is your bathroom filled with beauty stuff?
C informed the other day while cleaning out the bathroom that I had 6 types of hair “product” in my drawer. In all fairness, 2 were almost empty.

26. What kind of cologne/perfume do you wear?
None.

27. Do you like Carrie Underwood?
Who is Carrie Underwood?

28. Been to “The Vegas”?
No, but I want to go.

29. How far away do you live from your parents?
Roughly 11-13 miles depending on the route you take.

30. Are you happy with your job?
Actually, pretty happy.  I just got the best review I’ve ever gotten at the university.

31. Is there a job that you would do for free?
I think, ultimately, all jobs would get old after a while.  But I think I could probably be a toy tester, like Tom Hanks in “Big.”

32. What did you get in the mail today?
I haven’t checked the mail today, but probably nothing.

33. How do you like your steak cooked?
Medium.

34. Britney Spears…ready to have a nervous break down or just having fun?
I stopped paying attention to Britney after she got married the first time.

35. What do you usually order at Taco Bell?
7-layer burrito and nachos supreme.

36. What is your favorite sport?
Baseball…Baseball…BASEBALL!

37. Have you ever been to Mt Rushmore?
No…but someday.

38. Is it just me, or do most modern movies suck?
It’s just you.  Some modern movies are pretty decent.  Finding Nemo was a great movie.

39. Are surveys like the cocaine of MySpace?
I didn’t know MySpace did cocaine.

40. Where is your favorite place (that you have actually been to)?
Fenway Park, Boston, MA

41. What is your favorite scent?
My wife’s hair.

42. Do you believe places can really be haunted?
I think people want places to be haunted and they find reasons to think that.

43. Bud Light, Miller Lite, Coors Light?
D, none of the above.

44. Have you ever been to NYC or LA?
I’ve been to NYC a couple times actually.

45. How many states have you been to where all you saw was the airport?
I once took a field trip in middle school specifically to see the airport in Atlanta.  How lame.

46. Do you think 50 questions is enough?
After that book list…yes.

47. Are you currently planning a trip?
We’re always planning a trip.  First to St. Louis this month, then possibly to Hilton Head in May.  Maybe to New York in June.  And who knows about the fall.

48. Is Ryan Seacrest gay?
Who’s Ryan Seacrest?

49. What makes you laugh?
My own jokes.

50. Have you ever googled your name and found out somebody famous or semi famous has your same name?
Nope, just me.

Leave a Reply

