Organic…it’s good for you, it builds character.

How many of you at one time or another thought “Today’s the day I’m going to be healthier. I’m gonna start living right and eating right and exercising?” And how many of you found yourself on the couch a week later watching Letterman with a bag of Cheetos in one hand and your hundred dollar running shoes propped up on the coffee table? Hey, I’ve been there…some might even say I’m still there. I tried organic foods, but they were expensive and didn’t lend themselves easily to my budget. But now, there is assistance for those of you who are still eating Vienna Sausages from the can. My friend jujubee has joined forces with some other organically minded folks to create Organic Grocery Deals, a web forum where you can find all sorts of information on stores, merchandise, deals, recipes…the list goes on and on. This website, at first glance (since I just learned of it this morning), seems fairly comprehensive with the capability of becoming a massively informative site. I highly recommend it to all you couch potatoes, especially those of you who want to be, say, organic couch potatoes. It would also be helpful to those of you who are healthier than most. You might be able to stretch your organic dollar even further.

In other news:

  • Boston staves off elimination for another game behind the masterful performance of Josh Beckett, wunderkind of the postseason. It was a beautiful game, even with Manny slowly trotting to first on the world’s longest single. But honestly, if he did run, what would Tim McCarver have to wet his pants about. I hate Tim McCarver. Please FOX, partner Joe Buck with someone else…anyone else.
  • I’m running a half-marathon on Sunday morning. We’ll see how it goes. The weather promises to be very nice, cool and sunny. If you’re out and about early on Sunday, come on down to the river and cheer me on. Race starts at 8 a.m.
  • Today is 55Fiction day, so the latest installment of Jonas appears here:

The rain stained his black suit even darker than the clouds above.  Jonas stared intently ahead, his total focus was on the image before him.  A ghostly reflection of the rain warped face on the deeply polished walnut surface.  With a jolt, Lily was slowly lowered into the ground and Jonas blew her a kiss.

That’s all for today.  See you in the funny papers!

8 thoughts on “Organic…it’s good for you, it builds character.

  1. Marcia,

    I’ve been working on a book my whole life, but I never get past the first chapter. In all seriousness though, I usually am unable to get my characters beyond the opening setup. I am thinking of trying the NaNoWriMo in November (National Novel Writing Month)…however, with my senior thesis looming in the background, I don’t know that I’ll get a chance.

    I appreciate your kind comments though and hopefully I can continue to entertain.

  2. Drew, thanks and good luck to you as well. I’m hoping for better than 2:15, as my course is flat and fast. Apparently, several use the marathon portion as a BQ…but I’ll be happy just to finish, as always.

  3. Hey hey hey! Thanks for the great shout-out! I encourage all of your readers to come and join http://www.organicgrocerydeals.com We have lots of good info there on learning how to stretch your grocery budget to include organic/natural foods. All that, and we’re a fun bunch to hang out with!

    If any of Aarons readers register there and include him as your referral, I’ll buy him a six-pack of organic beer! No joke!

Leave a Reply

