NaBloPoMo – Post 1

Okay, so NaBloPoMo is shorthand for National Blog Posting Month. It’s sort of a sendup of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) wherein you spend every day writing several hundred words and complete a novel at the end of November. NaBloPoMoNaBloPoMo 2007 is a little more manageable in that you post on your blog every day for a month. Because I’m in the midst of my thesis writing, I didn’t want to get involved in NaNoWriMo this year (although, it’s something I’m contemplating in the future). And honestly, I didn’t even really want to get involved in NaBloPoMo…but a couple of friends posted something today and so I felt obligated, as a blogger, to at least attempt it. So this is the first of 30 blogs in a row. It’s not much…but it gives you something to look forward to for the next 29 days.

Sometimes I find myself musing about the dead. I wonder about how they are, where they are, and what they’re up to. I believe in an afterlife, just not necessarily heaven. I believe that souls return to earth in some form. I wish sometimes that we were able to contact them, I think it would be an amazing experience and possibly take the fear out of dying. I don’t really fear dying, but I don’t want loved ones to be devastated by my passing. I’d rather they simply accepted it as a part of existence and celebrated the good things I’ve done in life. Provided they can think of any 😀 But as it is, I think that part of my life is far in the future and we’ll cross that bridge when get to it.

See you in the funny papers! (wherever they may be)

5 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo – Post 1

  1. I find myself wondering what my deceased loved ones are doing. It’s nice to think about them all being together. Then, I remember that I don’t really believe in any sort of afterlife or beforelife, so that makes me sad.

  2. I sometimes I think my late dad is cutting the grass in Heaven, mowing the lawn was his favorite thing to do! Or perhaps playing Chess with some Grandmasters from the past.

    Maybe riding a gofl cart too!

  3. I’m taking part in NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo – what was I thinking?!

    I would hate it if the people I loved reacted to my death the way I would if they died. I would like them to remember the good times and carry on in happiness. I can’t handle death myself. I have to tell myself that there is something afterwards, some way of seeing those I’ve lost again. I’m really weak that way, I don’t want to see my own family feel like that.

Leave a Reply

