NaBloPoMo – Post 5

*gets up on to soapbox*

I get so frustrated with people who feel entitled, namely those who feel like they can avoid the rules and still get what they need or want.  But, I get even more frustrated by people who allow it to happen.Thumbs Down

For example, let’s say you have an event where anyone is entitled to free tickets.  FREE TICKETS, okay?!  All you have to do is show up by a certain day and ask for them.  They’ll be handed over post haste and you are off to the event, free of charge.  Now, after that day, you can’t get these tickets any more.  They’ll be unavailable.  Except that you are apparently one of the chosen ones and you desperately call looking for tickets up to the hour of the event.  You should not be allowed to get tickets.  You should have to wait at the door just like other people and hope that there’s an open spot.  You missed the cutoff and, therefore, you should be penalized.  But you’re not.  Why?!  Because there are other people who are so afraid or concerned that you’ll be angry or disappointed that they bow and scrape in the hopes of not offending.  They go out of their way to accomodate your laziness and apathy.  Those people should grow some cojones and kick your shit to the curb.  But they don’t and that pisses me off too.

Entitlement is becoming more and more the American fashion because we’ve been getting away with it for far too long.  And I’m not just talking politically or economically or what not…I’m talking about socially.  Socially we’ve become an irresponsible party and I’m tired of it.  Plus, I’m probably not immune.  I can’t think of any examples right off the top of my head, but I’m sure that I’ve been guilty of the very thing that I’m railing against this morning.  So it stops now.  We’re not entitled to anything.  We should have to work and earn everything and not just expect to show up and have it handed to us.

*gets down off soapbox*

See you in the funny papers!

10 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo – Post 5

  1. I agree! Thanks for sharing! And just out of curiosity…since you get paid to sing and all…what do you like to sing most? Are you a bass, a tenor, ???

  2. I’m a bass…well, baritone really, with tenor tendencies, but mostly baritone. As for what I like to sing…wow, I don’t know that I’ve ever narrowed it down.

    I really like a capella music. I like to sing tight harmony, like barbershop, but I rarely get a chance to do that. I also really like Russian sacred choral music…there’s something in that deep rich harmony that is good for the soul.

  3. We call it the “squeeky wheel syndrome” here at work. We fairly make rules, deadlines, etc. that are easy to understand and are in a timely manner. For the most part, the majority of the people comply. However, we have those who will squawk, hollar, and scream to the high heavens if you don’t break the rules just for them. And when I stand my ground and tell them NO, then they try to go above my head and still get it done. And does it? Of course! Do those who comply and pay attention to deadlines and rules get any special breaks? NO!!!

  4. I like Russian choral music as well, like in the movie “Hunt For Red October”. The opeining credits start off with that and makes you think that you are on a boat that is slapped by giant waves on the North Atlantic.

  5. The tickets were for an alumni concert John. I’m sure it was a waste of my time, but apparently it was a very nice concert…provided you graduated in 1953.

    Squeaky wheel syndrome huh? Interesting. Well…that’s certainly the problem here…although, it seems as though the squeaky wheels outnumber the oiled ones.

  6. Could you reenact the dinner scene from The Breakup or the Andy-wooing-Angela scene from this season’s The Office? Video it and post it, here, so we can all have evidence of your singing prowess? Please?

  7. Well, um…I don’t know about that there Lyds (my new name for you, direct from Beetlejuice)…I’ve not seen either of those, and I know I should be ashamed for not watching more of The Office, but hey, I’m a busy guy.

    However, as evidence of my singing prowess, I refer you to my December 11 blog post and I’ll have to check out the other two for more singing possibilities.

    John…of course I can sing. Not as good as you dance maybe, but I can sing. *laughing* Quick, somebody call 911, the “KungFu Fighter” just killed the bartender with a wild leg kick!

Leave a Reply

