A New Year, A New Me?

So, here we are…a brand new year, at least based on an arbitrary Gregorian classification, but hey, that was before my time. Therefore, we’ll go with the flow and bow to conformity for the purposes of this post.  And, as with all new beginnings, we come to the resolutions.  Those nitpicky little items that are supposed to focus our resolve and create a better person.  Without further ado, I give you the following:

  • I know that the death knell of all resolutions is the dreaded weight-loss resolution.  However, since I’m currently tipping the scales a Clydesdale-like 215, I’m aiming to lose 25 pounds this year.  This is a completely achievable goal and I think worthwhile as well.  In the process of achieving this goal, I’m hoping to eat many more vegetables than I’m used to eating.  
  • In addition to the well-known and loathed weight-loss resolution is the money-saving resolution.  Yet, I think an excellent goal for me would be to save $100 a month for home projects.  That would be a great total amount for the year to make significant improvements and would do wonders for the equity of the house.
  • Provided there are funds available, I want to run the Philadelphia Distance Run Half Marathon this September.  I still plan on running the Louisville Triple Crown and the Derby Festival mini-Marathon, but to run a different half-marathon in another city has been a wish of mine for the last year or so.  So this is sort of an iffy resolution, but it’s totally doable.
  • Finally, I resolve to finish my college degree this year.  This has been a resolution for a while now, but this year it is near fruition.  I have one semester left and I merely need to research and write my senior thesis.  It’s a tall order, but honestly, on this list, it’s the most realistic.  

That should begin the new year in a great new way.  Now, I just need to get started…tomorrow. *laughing*  Check out updates to the movies page and I’ll…See you in the funny papers! 

One thought on “A New Year, A New Me?

  1. 2007 was a real stinker from end to end and I’m glad to see the last of it. Left in Alabama is one of the few good things in my life from 2007; I sure hope the rest of you had a better year.

Leave a Reply

