Earthquake!

Yeeah, what a ride baby! We rode the 5.4 this morning at around 5:38 a.m. And it was AWESOME!

Yes, I’m that guy. I’m the guy that loves to be involved in natural phenomena. It’s part of what I love about physical geography. I stand at the window during tornadoes to watch what happens. I found the recent flooding a little bit intoxicating. I sit on the porch swing during severe thunderstorms to feel the crackle of lightning and the rumble of thunder through the crisp air.  I wanted the earthquake to last just a little bit longer because at that hour of the morning, it was basically over by the time I figured out what it was.

It only knocked some books over on my shelf, but the bed was rockin’ because Mother Nature was knockin’! I was so excited I asked my wife if she thought it would be on a website yet. I wanted to log in right then and find out what the deal was. The last earthquake that we felt here of any decent magnitude was back in the early ’80s, so to say it’s a rare occurrence is a severe understatement.

Anyway, I thought it was wonderful because it didn’t do any real damage here. I apologize up front for anyone who may have been traumatized by an earthquake…but for me it was fun. That said, I’m also the guy who doesn’t like fast elevators, flying in planes, or spiders of half-dollar size or larger.

See you in the funny papers!

4 thoughts on “Earthquake!

  1. No kidding! I’m way too curious about natural phenomena myself. This morning, I woke up before the earthquake because my cats freaked out. They apparently knew it was coming! So, I got up as soon as I could and went to web sites for National Earthquake Information Center and U.S. Geological Society.

    That was my fourth earthquake, btw. I was in high school when the one hit Western Kentucky in 1991, and I was in California between 1999-2002 and experienced two huge ones out there.

  2. I totally slept through the friggin’ earthquake. I didn’t even wake up and wonder what was going on! I always miss the cool stuff… When I woke up and checked my twitter messages I learned there was an earthquake. I immediately started searching the internet!

Leave a Reply

