At Last!

Two days ago I turned in my final draft for my senior thesis. It felt really good to hand that off and I look forward to graduation on May 10. This will certainly open up a whole new chapter in my life and Stickley rockerI can now say, with some measure of certainty and relief, that I embrace this new chapter whole heartedly. I can also look forward to a relaxing summer in the comfort of my new rocking chair, a graduation gift from my parents.  It’s a gorgeous Stickley rocker, by the way, and the picture to the right is a good representation.

I think I’m finally starting to let it sink in as well.  I’m beginning to feel lighter as the graduation day approaches.  I’m trying my best not to sound like the “first person ever to have graduated from college”, but this has been such a monumental obstacle in my life.  It is a bit tantamount to my first half-marathon where I really didn’t think I would finish and many times I thought about just stopping, but I rounded the corner to the finish line and all those people were there cheering me on, even though they had no idea who I was and I sprinted (like I’d never run before) to the finish, nearly in tears.  And it was the absolute best feeling in the world.  Just now, I’m starting to feel that way about graduation.

Dare I even consider graduate school?  It’s a possibility, but not at the moment.  Let’s let this sink in and then we’ll talk.

See you in the funny papers!

7 thoughts on “At Last!

  1. LET’S CELBRATE!!!!!! We are so excited and proud of you!!!!

    Graduate School!? You’ll be ready to retire by the time you’re done with THAT!!! ….just kidding. Don’t be ashamed of how long it took you. At least you have no student loans hanging over your head!

  2. Congratulations! That is awesome. My graduation at the Regulation Age was full of angst, pudginess (from a little too much “herbal jazz refreshment” & the consequent munchies), family agita, and total broke-ass broke-ness (I think I had like $114 bucks in my checking account on graduation day). So I think you’ve done it the right way, after all … 🙂

    I like the new look, btw. So congratulations on that, too!

  3. PS: on grad school, all I will say is: Don’t do it unless you know exactly why. I did it because I didn’t have any other ideas and didn’t know what to do with my life if I wasn’t in school, and while having an M.A. is nice and all, and it was a good experience, it didn’t really … you know … serve much of a purpose. Were I to go for another degree, I’d want there to be a real reason for it, dig?

  4. Grad school is not an option, at least for another year. I’m gonna let this sink in before I go all out for that. My concern is that job opportunities are limited for geographers with “merely” a bachelor’s degree. An M.S. in Geography or an MUP (Urban Planning) would probably be much more beneficial. However, please believe me when I say that graduate school is sort of a last resort type option. I have no real desire to go back to school at this point.

  5. Congratulations! It must feel wonderful to be finished with such a huge piece of work. Personally, I took off almost a year between undergrad and grad school, and the break was very helpful. Whatever comes next for you, I wish you luck and success!

Leave a Reply

