Graduation Day

I am of old and young, of the foolish as much as the wise;

Regardless of others, ever regardful of others.

Maternal as well as paternal, a child as well as a man,

Stuff’d with the stuff that is coarse, and stuff’d with

the stuff that is fine.

From A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Today is graduation day.  I’ve found that I’m anxious, but not excited.  Thrilled and relieved, butCollege Graduate underwhelmed by the need to be happy.  It’s not that I don’t want to be a graduate, I just don’t want to have to be joyful about it.  It’s simply something whose time has come and now, soon, it will be over.  I will, of course, be smiling and probably tearful because emotions don’t always do what we want them to do; or even what we’re prepared for them to do.  Yet, today I will be a college graduate and nothing can take that away from me.

I want to thank my family for believing in me, for pushing me when I needed to be pushed and chiding me when it was necessary.  Their ever constant pride and hope in me was always there to lift me up.  Their continued support and love has made this day possible.  I want to thank my wife for her love, her unwavering faith in my ability, even in the face of my stubbornness, and her constant support…she is the heartbeat of my existence and I think the sun rises and sets with her very smile.  I want to thank my friends for putting up with my nearly unending quest for this day.  Their patience and understanding during times when I needed to put them off is unparalleled and I thank them for their continued support and friendship.  And thanks, to all to those who in some unseen way made things possible for me.  I may not have known or acknowledged your leadership or inspiration, but obviously, it has shown through.

Off to get ready, today is your day.  Your mountain is waiting.  So off on your way!

~Theodore Seuss Geisel

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “Graduation Day

Leave a Reply

