Seriously?!

Okay, I’ve made no bones about my pick for president.  Only, Senator McCain is making it easier and easier to go with Senator Obama every day of the week.  Not that I ever had a problem with that anyway.

Recently, Senator McCain gave an energy policy speech in which he played both sides against the middle.

[T]he U.S. needs more conservation and renewables as well as more oil drilling, oil refineries, “clean-burning coal,” and nuclear power plants. He called for ending a federal moratorium on offshore oil drilling, but reiterated his opposition to drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.

Okay, so you can’t have it all.  What the U.S. really needs is a lot more conservation, more renewables, drilling and refineries that are not all about the oil company profits, an understanding that “clean-burning coal” is AT BEST the Sasquatch of energy policy and a better understanding of nuclear power plants, how safe they are, and what we plan to do with the waste.  And I love the “please love me” attitude for both sides of the aisle with his end the moratorium on offshore drilling, oh, but we wouldn’t dare disturb the ANWR.  How very placating of him.

These are the desperate pleadings of a man who has no real ability to win this election and wants to please everyone. In the words of Abraham Lincoln:

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time.

We will not be fooled Senator McCain.  You are merely the Emperor’s New Clothes; a trifling echo of the last eight years of presidential woes.

In other news, I got back to the gym last night and my ankle feels good (or it at least hurts in a good way this morning), so I think I might be back on track.

See you in the funny papers!

4 thoughts on “Seriously?!

  1. OK – a good hurt I’ve heard of, but not an ankle kind!! Glad you’re feeling better and back among the gym rats!! Surely those hills of Italy had some effect on your ankle, huh??

  2. Well, the ankle’s a little stiff, but it’s not pain…so it’s a good hurt. The hills of Italy didn’t have much effect on the ankle, unless it was to loosen it up a little.

    I have designs on climbing Humphrey’s Peak in Arizona and so I have to get cracking on training for that.

  3. Wow TAFKAA, that was seriously cryptic. It took me a minute or two to figure out if it was spam, but now I get it. Glad to see you’re up and running (no pun intended) and I welcome you to the Conspiracy of Happiness!

Leave a Reply

