Let’s get political, political…

Apologies to Olivia Newton-John for that post title.

Now, down to brass tacks:

  • Republicans! If you think this election is going to be about gas prices and oil drilling, you’re sadly mistaken.  Speaking as a member of the middle class, the lower middle class, let me assure you that we’re not as concerned about gas prices as we are this country’s course in the global view.  We want to be seen as a world power that is concerned and compassionate about the state of affairs for all countries, not imperialistic thugs who are merely concerned with how to fuel our SUV. This, of course, leads me to oil drilling.  We’d much rather be focused on better, newer, cleaner, and renewable energy.  Look in the dictionary under solar and/or wind.  We’d rather save the environment for our grandchildren than have it all mucked up with derricks and spills.
  • Media! We’re not concerned about Bristol Palin’s unborn baby.  The point is that her mother and John McCain have pushed for abstinence-only sex education in this country and that is unfair and unreasonable to all teenagers, particularly ones in Bristol Palin’s condition.  Maybe if they’d had better education, there wouldn’t be this need to drag the poor girl through the mud.  Some people want to be celebrities whose every move is dissected, e.g. Paris Hilton, but I’m sure that Ms. Palin would’ve been content to live her ordinary life without 24 hour media attention.
  • Democrats! So far, so good.  Don’t screw it up!  I wasn’t necessarily thrilled with Joe Biden as choice for VP, but now that I’ve seen him in interviews with Barack Obama, I think he might just be the right man for the job.  But, when you win, don’t be idiots and merely maintain the status quo.  You’ve championed the idea of change, and we want to see it!  I know that a lot of things are “campaign promises,” but there’d better be change for the better…otherwise you’re going to hear it from those of us who get screwed.
  • Republicans!  And another thing!  You haven’t cornered the market on churches and families.  My family thinks you’re a bunch of morons and I know many families that don’t fit your “Stepford” mold who think you’re idiots too.  As well, I belong to a church that doesn’t subscribe to your agenda of hate, so that’s at least one church you don’t have either.
In other news, I’m writing this in new Google Chrome, which is awesome.  I also started my “couch-to-5K” regimen last night and it went well.  Finally, Go Boston Red Sox!
See you in the funny papers!
8 thoughts on “Let’s get political, political…

  1. You’re freaking me out. Did I write that? Minus the church, Red Sox and having started Couch to 5K (which I’ll start at the end of the month), this is what I’ve been thinking about, lately.

  2. Oh, it’s soooo good to know I’m not alone on this. I mean, you two are gonna have to get with the program on the Red Sox, but seriously, it’s definitely good to know that other people are thinking the way I am. I missed Palin’s speech last night due to choir practice, did I miss anything good? I suppose I could just go read the transcript.

  3. Did you just work Olivia Newton-John into your blog headline? *roll eyes* Of course, I had to mouth the words to get the gist. Good job!

    I think Sarah Palin should stick to dressing Moose. *see Fred Thompson’s speech for reference*

  4. Dude. 🙂

    You need to see/read Palin’s speech, and while you’re at it… find Giuliani’s speech, too. I was floored.

    I’m very interested to see the direction this country takes (either way the election goes). Some folks are behaving like this is still the 20th century and we’re the only superpower. Things are changing. Have you read anything by Fareed Zakaria? You might be interested.

    Good luck on the C25K, I’m looking forward to your progress. One of these days I’ll update my stuff and my trek across the country for all two of my readers.

    Keep the faith.

  5. Angie…I did work ON-J into my blog…pretty snappy if I do say so myself. I’ll try to write smaller words next time though so you don’t have to think so hard. *laughing* Fred Thompson’s speech you say? I’ll check it out.

    Drew, I did finally read Palin’s speech, but sometimes I don’t think I get the full effect unless I see it, so maybe later tonight. I’m not sure how I feel about it at first glimpse though. Some things she said made a little sense, and then toward the end…well, the usual. I have not read Zakaria, but I may now that I’ve Googled him.

    Thanks on the C25K…I’m hoping for regular, possibly even weekly (GASP!) updates. I look forward to your updates, am I one of your two readers?

  6. Drew, that’s where it starts. At least you know your mom reads it. I didn’t find out until I had been writing for several months that my mom even bothered. Now, when I talk to her, I’ll tell her something and she’ll say…”Oh, I know, I read it on your blog.” I don’t even need the phone anymore apparently.

Leave a Reply

