Debate about the debate

Let me say this: I expected Governor Palin to be a complete nitwit during this debate given what we’ve seen in the past week with her interviewing ability.  This statement is merely in the interest of disclosure.

I am of the opinion that this debate was not the lopsided affair that was expected by many.  However, I think that this is only true superficially. I believe that if we dig deep down past the obviously smoothly coached answers of both candidates, we’ll find that there was more substance in Senator Biden’s answers.  A lot will be made of Governor Palin’s down-home colloquialism and, here in Kentucky, we tend to buy into that as more honest, more forthright, more believable.  But, for my money and my vote it strayed toward corny.  If anything, she appeared to be less educated than Senator Biden when using her “doggones” and her folksy stories.

When I vote for a person to assist in leading the country, I want to feel that person has a grasp on what it takes to be a player on the global stage.  I think Governor Palin’s inexperience continues to show even in the face of her ability to answer questions regarding topics that everyone is talking about these days.  I give her credit certainly for making giant strides toward becoming more knowledgeable and capable of being that person at some point in the future, but I believe for now that Senator Biden is more professional and is a more rational choice for vice president.

Senator Biden, on a consistent basis, was able to answer the questions posed by the moderator.  More so, even, than the presidential counterparts were able to do last week.  And, not to use this as an rallying point, but his obvious compassion and understanding, evident when speaking about his family, was just the right amount of connection with the voters on Main Street.  His answers were more substantive, whereas Governor Palin’s regurgitated talking points showed very little understanding of the issues at hand.

It’s one thing to memorize the facts for the test, it’s completely another to understand the basic fundamentals in order to excel beyond the moment.  My thoughts and my vote remain unchanged aside from I don’t discount that Governor Palin can be molded into a politician, possibly worthy of her desired office.

See you in the funny papers!

6 thoughts on “Debate about the debate

  1. Nobes…expletives and cheap jokes certainly have their place. I’m not above them either, especially regarding certain events…search my archives for a recent cycling incident for examples. However, I’m doing my best to provide unbiased opinions on this debate. As Biden said, this is the most important election we will have voted in our lifetimes.

  2. In response to her repeated chiding of Biden focusing on the past.

    A line I wish he would have used last night: “In order to properly judge change, it’s not only important to know where we’re going but also where we’ve been”

  3. I will say Sarah Palin exceeded my expectations, however, I couldn’t agree more with your closing paragraph! Like you said, the fact that she kept regurgitating the same thing over and over and never answering the questions straight and often changing the topic annoyed me. As if coached to say, “If you can’t think of nothing else, just say ‘John McCain is a Maverick!'” And how many times DID she say, “You betcha!” Stop winking at me, Sarah Palin.

  4. Drew, nice catch. I wish Biden had at times been a lot more forceful, but I think he was able to succeed in the debate without being overbearing. He managed to put his points across and answer (most) questions without accidentally exploding and demanding to know why she was even in the race…which is probably what I would do. Palin is obviously unqualified.

    Angie, the winking and the colloquialisms really began to grate on my nerves. We’ve had enough of that for the last 8 years as well, we certainly don’t need this Alaskan siren mouthing off for another four. Although, that certainly provides Tina Fey with some job security.

Leave a Reply

