Fall classics

I have a love/hate relationship with the California Angels Aside: I digress for a moment, I refuse to call them the Disney Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim State near Burbank by the Walmart* off the turnpike or whatever their name is now. Anyway, the Angels are nearly a perfect foil for my beloved Red Sox. They have lost eleven straight in the postseason in a variety of ways. It has been a joy to watch as Boston continues another juggernaut season, hopefully ending in another championship. However, I dislike the fact that the West Coast games are on so late. I was up until 2 a.m. on Wednesday night (Thursday morning) and was up until 1:30 a.m. last night watching the ending of the game. It’s beginning to wear me out, and I’m glad that the next game is in Boston on Sunday.

Now, there are those of you, my wife included, who will say that I don’t really need to stay up that late. However, those of you who are baseball fans know that failure to watch your team play can result in significant disastrous results. You need to be cognizant of every pitch as your team sustains a drive in the postseason. You need to be “in tune” with your team, regardless of the time zone. And so, I stave off sleep in the hopes of rooting my team on to another victory. But that doesn’t mean I enjoy it any the next day.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “Fall classics

  1. “I refuse to call them the Disney Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim State near Burbank by the Walmart* off the turnpike or whatever their name is now.”

    Haaaaaaaaaa! Same here. And good GOD do I hate this team. Hate hate hate. 😦

  2. And, thank Shatner that they’ve been eliminated. I think I dislike them so much because Scioscia was on the ’88 Dodgers team that I despised and he looks a little bit like a young John McCain. 100 wins…BAH!

Leave a Reply

