Economic woes

I’m not even going to begin to try and explain the market, the bailout, the oversight, and whatever else might be associated with people not being able to make ends meet.  I’m an excellent bullshitter, as my wife will attest, but I don’t understand enough about what’s going on to make a plausible argument for or against anything.  

Here’s what I do know.  The market has a lot of people’s money tied up, the bailout is going to use more of their money to try and make the banks feel better, and that has a lot of people fed up with the industry.  Understandably so.  So, I suggest that you start selling off organs to make up the difference.  You really don’t need BOTH kidneys or parts of your liver, and you can probably do without one or two fingers.  But then again, you probably can’t afford the health insurance to have these things removed.  And, now I hear that middle class people are going to thrift stores.  Um…hello, we’ve always been going to thrift stores…just not necessarily to shop for clothing.

Anyway, I’m happy today because the Red Sox won (barely!) last night and it happened at around 11:30, so I was able to get to bed at a reasonable hour considering that it’s playoff season.  Now, we’re off to play the Rays in Tampa Bay which should be another close series.  You’ve got to hand it to Maddon and the Rays, they’ve done well all year and might be changing what people think about Tampa Bay.

Hopefully a running update tomorrow.  I didn’t run this weekend and I wish I had, but things are still going well.  I feel good when I run.  The lungs burn a little and the legs tighten slightly, but it always feels good afterwards.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “Economic woes

  1. And now the latest! The Fed just announced it’s buying commercial paper from major corps. This is ’cause they can’t get credit. What was the bailout for? The gates are open and the pigs inside. FOX NETWORK leads the way pimping for the next giveawy. See SandySays1.wordpress.com

  2. Sandy, it seems as if we may be on the same page with this one, but I don’t understand your comment. Buying commercial paper? Like, copier paper…or is this an industry term.

    As for FOX network, well, we’ve known for a long time that it’s just a mouthpiece for Rupert Murdoch and his ilk. There’s no real “news” coming out of FOX anyway. It’s merely a rehashing of anti-liberal madness. Plus, aren’t they responsible for American Idol…enough said!

Leave a Reply

