Prelude to the end

As I listen to the spin and the presumptions about who wins and who doesn’t on this debate, I feel compelled to add my own two cents. And, I’ll do my best to limit it to a mere two cents and not the whole wooden nickel.

In my view, Senator McCain looked whiny and desperate in this debate. For the first couple of questions, much like his running mate, he preferred to answer the questions that he wanted asked, not the questions that were actually posed. Senator Obama, on the other hand, proved capable and even-handed as he answered the questions that were asked. McCain did seem to find his stride at some point and was able to provide some coherent answers, but never really seemed to find my trust. Not to mention his continued references to Joe, the plumber from Ohio, which seemed trite and condescending. Senator Obama managed to address the American people in a controlled manner which made him seem professional and not petty. I also thought Obama did an excellent job responding to the inquiries about his relations with Ayers and ACORN which have absolutely nothing to do with the economy, healthcare, or any of the myriad issues that are affecting people like myself…or even Joe, the plumber.

If I had to pick a winner, naturally, I’d have to go with Barack Obama, and I would hope that this is based on a true understanding of who would make the best president and not my own selfish desires. Senator Obama, I believe, represents the hearts and minds of the American people and is capable of bringing about real change in this country. John McCain seems to be the sort of person who says all the right things, but would just as soon stab you in the back if he thought he could profit from it. McCain seems like the Judas Iscariot of this presidential campaign. Aside: And, NO, that is in NO WAY an analogy of Obama as Christ before all you right-wing nuts start digging in for that battle.

Also, I think Senator Obama made another excellent point, one that I think bears examining in greater depth. No one is pro-abortion, there is pro-life and pro-choice. Pro-life means that you think that people should not have the option of choosing to have an abortion. Pro-choice means that you think that people should have that option. Neither of these stances on this extremely politically-charged debate have anything to do with being for abortions.

There were several excellent issues in this debate and I hope that the undecided voters Aside: because that’s who’s really deciding this election now watched intently and are making wise and intelligent decisions based on what they saw and heard this evening. I also hope that voters who had their minds made up were able to listen closely to both candidates and make certain that what they feel in their hearts is really what they want for their country.

Finally, I know we’re all ready for this election to end…some more than others, if for no other reason so that I can go back to writing about exercise and other nonsense. Just a few more weeks and, hopefully, we can all unite on a course that will lead this country back to greatness, regardless of which candidate wins.

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “Prelude to the end

  1. Mrs. G, wouldn’t it be great to have a President who understands ANYTHING?! As we near the end of this election marathon, I’m finding it much more difficult to be objective. I’d rather just outright say that the Republicans can blow me…but that’s not very nice.

    Angie, I was only Republican in the sense that I needed a party to join in order to vote in a primary. I never really held any Republican ideals. Had I bothered to even understand any of our political process, I’m sure I would always have been a bleeding heart liberal. As for John, I’m sure that he has some really good reasons for being Republican. I just can’t fathom what they are.

Leave a Reply

