NaBloPoMo 3

 In my search for something other than the election to talk about, I came upon this little treat at CNN: Anonymous anger rampant on Internet and thought I’d address this.  

The truth is, this is nothing new.  People have been replying anonymously with vile rage to blog posts and news stories ever since the first HTML page popped up on the internet.  I’ve even got a few posts on my own blog that contain the very rage they’re speaking of, but I’m not really all that anonymous.  A decent detective, or even a half-decent one, could find out who I am fairly simply I would imagine.  Truth be told, I’d be happy to tell you who I am if you bothered to email me.

So why the concern with anonymous anger?!  Well, I don’t really know.  They reference the girl who killed herself in response to a hoax boyfriend on MySpace and the Japanese lady who killed her husband’s avatar Aside: Really?! Seriously?! This is a crime, offing someone’s avatar? after he divorced her.  But, aren’t these people maybe a little off to begin with.  I mean, that’s not normal behavior.  Plus, they don’t really say who they’re blaming for this rise in anonymous anger and their solution to the problem is to have parents observe and limit computer use.  What about the adults?!  

I’ll be the first to say that the postings on some internet sites are out of control.  Hell, our own local paper has some pretty raunchy stuff in the comments section, especially when it’s sports-related.  I just ignore it, but then I’m capable of doing that.  Actually, everyone is capable of doing that…it’s simply a matter of being aware of what’s going on in reality and realizing that the internet is chock full of loons who have nothing better to do that curse your grandmother’s name while taunting your preferred sports team.  

Here’s my suggestion:  If you find yourself the target of anonymous anger, turn your computer off and go outside, or read a book, or turn on the television and ignore it.  On the flip side, if you find yourself compelled to spew violent hatred in text form, turn your computer off and go outside, or read a book, or turn on the television and find a better way to deal with your anger.  There are always options, choose one!

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

