NaBloPoMo 10

nablo1108120x240Today I started a new flex time schedule at work.  I work from 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., but I have Wednesdays off.  So, it’s like having a Monday, a Friday, and then a day off, a Monday, a Friday and then a weekend.  Pretty cool.  At least, today it was cool, tomorrow may be another story altogether.  Still, the traffic was non-existent early this frosty morning when I left for work.  And by 5:30, most of the traffic should’ve cleared off the campus…so commuting to work is hopefully going to be a breeze.  Now, I just have to carry this momentum of productivity through to Wednesday and get some stuff down around the house.

Speaking of frosty mornings, it really wasn’t all that cold this morning.  I needed gloves and a jacket, but overall, it was pretty decent.  I know that this will not stay this way…the forecast is for some rain for the rest of the week…but it’s nice to have non-inclement weather for as long as possible.

I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving in Arizona.  As I mentioned the other day, I purchased some hiking shoes for the event.  I’m hoping to scale Humphrey’s Peak, but if not that at the very least do some hiking in and around the Grand Canyon.  That would be a highlight.  I saw some pics from TAFKAA and SV of their recent hike in the Canyon and they were magnificent.  I think I’m an outdoorsy person, but I don’t really feel like I live close enough to “the outdoors” to enjoy it.  But, I live in a state that really caters to persons who feel the need to get out and stretch their legs among the pines…I should just do it more often.  

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo 10

  1. Oooh, flextime! I like it. Any particular reason, or just working out a little life/work balance?

    For the record, I like that you’re doing this, as a fellow worker in the general US population. Flextime should be available for everyone, not a select few, or to the parent ghetto. New world out there, folks.

  2. No particular reason. I’m not wild about the job at the moment, so a day off in the middle of the week is pretty good. It does help with the life/work balance. See Post 12 for more info on my day off.

    Flextime should be available to a lot of people. It’s not like we don’t have the technology and wherewithal to accomplish our work in a pattern that is different than the 8 hour day. So, we’ll see how it goes. I’m sure it’ll take some adjustment, but so far, so good.

Leave a Reply

