A Very Vegan Thanksgiving

Intertubes, I apologize for not posting throughout the Thanksgiving weekend, but when I tell you about the trip to Flagstaff, Arizona, you’ll understand.  It was a most amazing weekend and I can go no further without thanking our hosts, TAFKAA and SV, profusely.  Their kindness and affability throughout the week was without equal…but, the meals…the meals were exquisite.  

For Thanksgiving, we started with a wonderful butternut squash soup tinged with apple and ginger, garnished with green onions.  This was followed by the main dish, red peppers stuffed with a harvest salad made with onion, pistachios, rice, cabbage and probably a host of other vegetables.   Side dishes includedseasoned asparagus and a potato scramble with two different types of potato, yellow carrots and plenty of garlic and herbs.  Dessert included a wonderful ambrosia fruit salad with coconut milk and pumpkin pie made with silken tofu and a mixed berry pie.  Isn’t your mouth simply watering?  And, all of this made without a single animal product.  I don’t know that I’ve ever had a better Thanksgiving meal.

As if this dinner wasn’t magnificent enough, they proceeded to take us to the Grand Canyon via the Grand Canyon Railway.  It was a terrific train ride and then, the absolute breath-taking awe of standing in front of this massive expanse.  I was in literal tears before that majestic landscape.  I took pictures (up later today, hopefully) that will do it no justice whatsoever.  Then, we hiked down Bright Angel Trail to the 1.5 mile Rest House and then back up again.  I can’t even begin to explain in words what that is like.  The colors, the smells, the tears of exhaustion and joy…every single moment was transcendent.  I’ve been a lot of places in the world, but there is nothing to which this compares.  

I was also able to spend some time working in SV’s pottery studio, doing some mindless work that saved him some time when he fires the kiln.  We also were able to hike around Mt. Elden on Sunday which was a wonderful hike up the mountain to a rocky outcropping that overlooked the entire city of Flagstaff.  I really thought I was in better shape than I was…but the elevation is a killer.  You can’t go from sea level (basically) to 7,000+ and expect to just hike up and down without a little effort.  My legs were a little sore when I got home, but it was total joy for me, from start to finish.

It was a treat to spend time with my brother-in-law and sister-in-law out in Arizona.  It was my first Thanksgiving away from home and it was wonderful.  Hopefully, I’ll have pictures up later tonight.  

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “A Very Vegan Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

