Frosty the Cyclist…everybody sing!

I do not like winter.  I don’t hate it, but I don’t like it.  There are some aspects of winter that I enjoy.  Hot cocoa, gently falling snow, warm crackling fires…but on the whole I could leave winter behind any given day.  Today was the day I started disliking winter this year.

I ride my bike to work.  It saves on gas, parking, good for the environment, good exercise…myriad reasons why I ride my bike to work.  However, today…today the temperature was a whole 19°F when I set out on my bike.  Plus, here in the Ohio Valley, we have humidity issues.  That very humidity Aside: that we also love to curse in the summer created a wind chill of 10°F.   TEN DEGREES!  Think that’s not bad?!  First of all, you’re probably driving to work in a car that you warmed up for 20 minutes while you decided whether to hit Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts on the way to work.  OR, you live in a climatic zone that tends not to even have anything below thirty on the thermometer.  What I’m saying is that it was nightmarishly cold.  It was so cold that during one point of my ride Aside: the downhill part I covered my eyes with a gloved hand to keep my glasses from freezing to my face.  It was like having an ice cream headache for six minutes.  And yet…I do it for you, and your children, and your children’s children, that they might be spared the agony of wandering a post-apocalyptic world where the thought of oil is an ancient memory, where water is more expensive than gold, and where alternative energy sources are mocked as they bow to their overlords, the CEOs of energy companies.  Wow…that was dramatic!  My brain must not be as frozen as I thought it was.

In other news…congratulations to Steve Kragthorpe and company on yet another fruitless season.  I realize that there are so many other things in the world to concern myself with besides the scramblings of boys in a game, but to hear they lost 63-14 to Rutgers last night to cap a 5-7 season is priceless.  I don’t blame the kids, they’re just innocent bystanders in this economic tug-of-war that is university athletics.  But, to have a program that went to bowl games for several years in a row, only to have it slip back into obscurity, is sort of pathetic.  And then, to have the gall to add seats to a stadium for more such events in the future is an offense to hardworking people everywhere.

See you in the funny papers!

4 thoughts on “Frosty the Cyclist…everybody sing!

  1. Good lord! A bike, today?!? Take the TARC bus, silly! I froze in my unwarmed up car for the five minutes to take to work and the, seemingly, five minutes it takes to walk from the parking lot to the office door. I can’t imagine riding open-air style on such a cold morning.

    …and Steve Kragthorpe got a raw deal, but he still sucks.

  2. Yep…bike every day! Actually, from where I live in relation to my office, it would take me longer to get to the bus stop and I’d still have to walk “half the distance to the goal” to get to my office. It’s more advantageous to take the bike even in the bitter cold.

    That said…good to have you back in the blogosphere!

    1. I’ll do my best. I’m gonna look for something that covers the face a little more though, just in case it gets colder. Or maybe I’ll have my wife take me to work 😀

Leave a Reply

