Happy Days…no, not the sitcom.

Some days are just happier than others.  Believe what you like about cosmic influence, higher powers, luck of the draw…there are some days that are simply better than others.  Today, oddly enough, seems to be one of those days.  It certainly didn’t start out that way.

I was exhausted when I woke up this morning.  I don’t know if it was C. kicking my butt in Scrabble last night, or if it was the 3-mile run earlier in the day…or just the overall strain of the weekend, but I was tired this morning.  Still, I strapped myself on to the bike in the dark and cold and came to work.  Where’s the happy?! I’m getting to it.

So, I had no phone messages from the weekend and very few emails to check.  One of my office nemeses has a scheduled day off today.  My office mate got a 100% on her research paper.  AND, I took a survey wherein I got to check the box labeled “College Graduate.”  Granted, these are all minor things…but with the economy tanking and Christmas looming ever closer, today is a happy day!

Other RANDOM THOUGHTS:

  • I made it through the first 200 pages of Proust, unscathed.
  • We got our Christmas trees yes, plural up and decorated.
  • Christmas gifts are 94% purchased and 37% wrapped.
  • The Louisville Cardinals basketball team seems to be on track for a great season.
  • There are only 43 days ’til Inauguration Day

See you in the funny papers!

P.S. Check out the Spoiler-Free Movie Reviews page for updated films.

4 thoughts on “Happy Days…no, not the sitcom.

  1. Hey there –
    Sounds like you have it all under control…the trees and the presents…and the overall happiness quotient in there somewhere! I have the tree up…but only one decoration at the moment. Choir (Kwar in Texan speak) is keeping me hopping…but thats a good thing. We performed in the Longhorn Caverns this weekend..very cool and kind of spooky…considering that the ghost hunters explored the caverns after we left…! Have a great week.

  2. I hear you about Kwar. If my Kwar director says “Christmas is early this year” one more time. Longhorn Caverns sounds nice. I bet the reverb was really nice. Hmm…I wonder if anyone sings at Mammoth Cave this time of year?

  3. I’d say that it’s AWFULLY chilly in the easily public-accessible parts of Mammoth Cave, right now. I mean, I know that underground is a constant temperature, but it’s gotta be cold near the entrances to the caves.

  4. Oh definitely! I would think though, that if there were such an event, that it would be coordinated through the park. Like, I don’t know, pay your entrance fee + $7 and get a concert once you get to the Snowball Room. Do they still have the Snowball Room? I need to get to Mammoth Cave more often.

Leave a Reply

