Happy Mardi Gras!

People of the Intertubes, you know it’s going to be a long day when you wake up wishing it was tomorrow already.  Tuesday mornings are always an adventure because Monday is the longest day of my week.  I start work at 7 am and I don’t get home from choir practice until 10:30 pm.  That is, unless we stop off for “bass sectional rehearsal” at the local pub which we did last night…and a couple pints of Guinness later, I’m home at around 11:30 pm and not in bed til 12 am.

So, needless to say, I’m pretty whipped today.  Literally, my first thought this morning was, oh, I wish it was Wednesday, which would be a day off for me.  Sadly, it is still Tuesday. But not just any Tuesday…

It’s Mardi Gras!

Now, I’ve been to Mardi Gras in New Orleans…twice.  It was a blast, but I know in my heart of hearts that I’m way too old for that nonsense now.  My first trip to Mardi Gras I slept on the floor of a hotel room near a parade route.  My friends J., A., J., and J. Yeah, you know who you are and I were experiencing each moment with fascinated naivete.Friends at Mardi Gras  My first introduction to Mardi Gras was the kid who face planted in the middle of the parade route at 10 am the next morning and then just got up like nothing was wrong and kept shuffling on.  We drank Huge Ass Beers and collected as much cheap plastic shit as we could lay our hands on.  We bought jester hats and drank our weight in rum.  We caroused til all hours of the night and day, saw more flesh than a plastic surgeon, and things that happen in NOLA, stay in NOLA.  We even got up early on Tuesday so that J. could get a Zulu coconut.  

My second trip to Mardi Gras, we stayed in an old house with bad plumbing (which probably isn’t even there anymore due to Hurricane Katrina) with a lot more people.  There was A., J., J., K., D., S. and S.’s friend whose name I cannot remember You were all there…you remember  Memorable moments from that trip include the air mattress that had a leak, J. clearly saying “turkey” while meaning to say “hurricane” Sorry man, the whole van heard it K. getting tagged in the head with a Bacchus medallion (one of the clay ones, OUCH!), my jester outfit which, if anyone has that picture, I’d love to have a copy and I’ll gladly post it here, S. snoring like a tractor early in the Mardi Gras Fleur-de-Lismorning and being pulled over in Tennessee on the way home when J. asked the trooper if he’d like some beads.

I love the idea of Mardi Gras, a complete Bacchanalian romp through New Orleans in anticipation of Ash Wednesday and the beginning of Lent.  I love the pageantry, the surfeit of plastic beads and plastic boobs, the color and the noise.  Yet, there is quite possibly nothing sadder than a discarded mask in a rain soaked doorway on Ash Wednesday as you leave New Orleans.  I do know what it means to miss New Orleans and I’d love to go back…and observe, from a distance.

Oh well…life changes and we change with it.  In other news, the bathroom renovation is coming along nicely, hopefully it’ll be done by Sunday.  Then we can start on the kid’s room.  Congratulations to the Neighbors who are having twins!  And, I’ll be posting the results/answers of the movie quotes from the last post after I close this post.  It looks like mshellion won the Santa Claus Pez dispenser.

See you in the funny papers!


6 thoughts on “Happy Mardi Gras!

  1. Sadly, I was there both times and the memories are getting foggy as the years go by. I will admit that I did have more fun the second time…I think. Bad plumbing and all. 😉

    “my jester outfit which, if anyone has that picture, I’d love to have a copy and I’ll gladly post it here” – I’m on the mission to find it!

  2. It is, with all modesty, a really good picture. The depth of field and the composition are very well done, and the sepia makes it just that much better. More apropos for our age! *laughing*

    Honestly, I had a better time the first time around…but it was still fun regardless.

  3. John…I have 4 other people who heard you say “turkey” and would swear to it in any court.

    Gleemonex…one is never too old to go to Mardi Gras. One just has to pick and choose the areas and times that one visits during Mardi Gras carefully.

Leave a Reply

