Running Update and more

Okay…so these weekly running updates have turned into more of a monthly type thing.  That’s due, in no small part, to my own lack of doing them.  Actually, it’s totally due to my lack because I’m the person responsible for this type of thing.  Anyway, today…I have a running update:

#21

So, as you are completely unable to see from the map, unless you squint, I have just passed both the 400-mile mark and Fort Leonard Wood.  This is a huge milestone in my goal to reach Pittsburg, Kansas by June 3.  This leaves me with less than 200 miles to go…although, some quick math shows me that I have to average a little more than 3 1/2 miles per day from now until then.  I don’t run nearly that consistently, so I’m gonna have to start putting up some bigger numbers.  I’m going to try walking at lunch to cut out a big chunk of that mileage and weekends are going to have to eat up some of the lower weekday counts.  I still believe, however, that it’s a totally manageable goal.

In other news, I finished the Papa John’s 10-miler with a new personal record — 1:51:27 — on Saturday.  The KDF mini-marathon comes up in just over a week on April 25 and I’d like to set a new record for that race as well.  My previous best is 2:32:23…so we’ll see if I can’t beat the 2 1/2 hour mark.

As well, the bathroom is basically complete.  There is one minor repair to be made around the drain for the bathtub, but I trust that it is well in hand.  Also, as of yesterday afternoon, all but the decorating was complete in the baby’s room.  There will be a new window installed, but I don’t have anything to do with that, other than ordering it.  

To that end…I simply can not thank my parents and godmother enough for all the time and energy and money they’ve put into helping us out with the baby’s room.  They’ve worked tirelessly on days when they could’ve been doing something much more entertaining.  Hopefully, pictures will be available soon and you can see how much hard work they’ve been doing.  This isn’t to say that I haven’t helped, but they’ve done the bulk of the work.  

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “Running Update and more

  1. Glee…we’re in a holding pattern, I guess. Tomorrow will be one week until the due date (5/5/09) and the doctor visits come fast and furious in these last days. I shoulda been an obstetrician! 😀 Anyway, the room is done, we have all the stuff…and I do mean ALL the stuff…and now, we’re just waiting for her to arrive. It’s kinda like Christmas, only we don’t know when Christmas is.

  2. Awesome! I hope Mrs. Guinness isn’t feeling too uncomfortable — the last couple of weeks are mostly a kind of stuffed-to-the-gills, can’t-tie-shoes feeling. I think it’s designed that way to make sure you’re too ready to have the baby OUT to fear labor or new parenthood, heh. Best of luck and all happiness to both of you!

Leave a Reply

