More hell in a handbasket

It seems as though every time I disappear from my blogging duties for a while, the world becomes a little more dim, in every sense of the word.  Dim in its enlightenment, dim in its joy, dim in its desire for human equality.  Last time, I blamed it on you Intertubes, but I know it’s not you.  Honestly, sometimes I feel like we’re the only ones doing the right things, though I know that’s extremely shortsighted.  However, maybe we’re not doing enough.  Still, I’m going to refrain from beating my dead high-horse on this one because my soapbox is crushed from all the standing and I don’t know that anyone can hear me anyway.  But, let’s cover some things that I’ve missed over the past couple…crap, almost 3 weeks.  I didn’t realize I’d been gone that long.

  • North Korea – Has there ever been a more egomaniacal lunatic with paranoid delusions running such a large cult with access to nuclear materiel?  Not that I’m aware of.  So this Kim Jong-Il, who has his country frightened into calling him “Esteemed God” or some such nonsense is prancing around in his mechanic’s jumpsuit trying to scare the rest of the world with his nuclear activity because he thinks the bogeyman is after him.  Why in the world would the United States be trying to subvert his leadership and destroy his regime?  Maybe because he’s a crackpot who is threatening nuclear warfare.  Even so, up to this point, we’ve pretty much left him to his own devices because we’ve been busy elsewhere (Afghanistan, Iraq, etc.), so it’s hard to point a finger at the U.S.  Besides, that sort of colonialization went out of fashion in the 1950s (or 1960s …I mean 80s, dammit, we need need to stop doing that shit!)
  • Iran – I think we, meaning the United States, have enough problems with our own election counts that we have no business meddling in the affairs of other elections in other countries, even if those elections reek of vote-rigging and have set off waves of violence in a country known for its oppressive regimes.  That said, there is something a bit off with a theocratic government and there is a slight odor when the Supreme Leader comes out and says that the President, who is like-minded in his conservative values, bears no fault in the election process because he won by such a large margin.  Yes, of course, it would be impossible to rig 11 million votes.  Well, not entirely impossible…I mean, if you can rig just one vote, how hard can it be to do 10,999,999 more?  My thoughts go out to the thousands of individuals who have taken to the streets to express their desire to live in a free society without the pain and indignity of being considered as mere sheep for the slaughter.
  • Republicans – Speaking of conservative moral values, why is it every month or so, some “upstanding Republican who is fighting for this country’s moral and family values” gets caught with his pants down?  I’m speaking, of course, about Senator Ensign (or Senator Craig or Representative Curtis or Representative Foley or Rev. Haggard…the list goes on and on folks!)  Now, I’m not saying that Democrats are innocent by any stretch of the imagination.  I’m certain that there is more than just a top ten list of Democrat Dirty-Birds.  But what I am certain of is the seeming lack of hypocrisy.  Republicans are always spouting their core values of family and tradition and moral uprightness, when they’re really no better than the gay-loving, baby-killing heathens that we are.  They just tend to go about it in a different, i.e. dark and secretive, manner.
  • Kate and Jon GosselinWho gives a damn? NOBODY! This also goes for Carrie Prejean, former Miss California and Spencer and Heidi, or Speidi, or Dumbasses, whatever they’re calling you these days.  And, probably a thousand other F-list celebrities with WAAAY more than their 15 minutes in the spotlight.  I’m sure that I could wander over to TMZ and make a list, but honestly, who wants that?  I’m ashamed that I even know there is such a thing as TMZ.

Even with all of that, can I tell you that I fear for my daughter’s future in this crazy world, but I know that if I’m capable of instilling in her the power of self-determination and critical thinking that maybe one day, instead of just sitting on the couch on Sunday morning and writing into the ether about the powerlessness to effect change, maybe she’ll be an instrument of change and I can sit around and write about how well the Red Sox are doing and how the Yankees got beat by the lowly Nationals, AGAIN!  And, something else I know for sure, that smile of hers will most certainly be the catalyst for benevolence, because even without teeth, it shines like the twin suns of Tatooine on a hot August day!

See you in the funny papers!

Leave a Reply

