Long time no write…

Yes, yes, it’s been a long time since I posted.  Too long, in fact, and I apologize.  But, let’s not dwell on the past shall we?  As Satchel Paige once said: “Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.”  So, in the spirit of the great baseball sage, I’d like to introduce a new segment called Here’s what I don’t get

Here’s what I don’t get…the popularity of Sacha Baron Cohen.  I understand satire and I understand comedy, but to me, this man just does it poorly. Now apparently, I’m in the minority here, considering his films rake in millions.  Still, my concern is that there is simply a wealth of ignorant humans who don’t understand that he’s simply pandering to their basest instincts for a laugh.  I’ve never found that type of humor to be engaging, rather it simply sets us back decades as a species.  Or maybe, just maybe, Cohen is on the cutting edge of breaking down walls of bigotry and hatred…but it seems as if he’s simply causing the less educated to revel in their ignorance and pass it on to future generations.

Here’s what I don’t get…why haven’t we been back to the moon?  Or possibly, an even better question, why did we even go to the moon in the first place?  Don’t get me wrong, I think that the science behind sending people to the moon is incredible and has been slowly dwindling over the last 40 years.  I stand in awe of those who have transcended the earthly bond of gravity and risked pretty much everything they know and love to get to something so far away.  But, why did we go?  Given NASA’s archive of President Kennedy’s speech, the entire venture was based not on science, but on politics.  Wow…we’ve come so far in 40 years! Aside: See, now that’s sarcasm. Basically, we were being trounced by the Soviets in “The Great Space Race” and having just looked like a bunch of dorks following the Bay of Pigs incident, we needed something to really turn our image around.  So, let’s put a man on the moon.  Nothing scientific about it…merely politics and saving face.  But, why haven’t we been back?  We have the technology, or at least we did.  Surely we haven’t gotten rid of it.  Not just that, but the technology has come a long way since transistors and vacuum tubes.  Now, we could go back to the moon and do something useful instead of just bounce around, pick up rocks, and play golf.  We could set up instruments to visualize weather patterns on Earth; we could discuss terraforming a moonbase as a waypoint between here and Mars if we decide we really want to go there; there are probably thousands of scientific options, but we seem to have been content with simply making a few footprints and claiming the win.

That should cover us for now.  Be sure to tune in next time when I’m bound to not get something else.  In the meantime, check out the Movie Reviews page which has been updated recently.

See you in the funny papers!

2 thoughts on “Long time no write…

  1. There are a lot of things I don’t get … but I do get how cute & awesome those photos of y’all w/baby Ivy are. 🙂 Enjoy this time (it sounds like you are!), and know that there’s even more awesome stuff coming up (wait till she can say “President Obama!” with perfect enunciation, and spot his pic in the newspaper … or say “I love you!”). Good times, these.

Leave a Reply

