Water, water, everywhere…but not a drop to drink.

I think Noah would’ve been proud of this one, ya’ll.    I’m talking some serious flooding here in the commonwealth.  There was over 13 feet of water at 1st and Cardinal by the Taco Bell and the middle of campus was a lake.  Some people even had to be rescued from one of the administration buildings Aside: seriously…apparently, it was even on The Weather Channel The dean and I and a co-worker of mine did the dirty work of rescuing several instruments from a flooding area in the basement…drums, basses, amps, whatnot, etc. Aside: Have you ever heard an oratorio performed on the whatnot, it’s amazing. There were some cars that were totally flooded out around campus and our neighborhood, but we managed to survive with only a little pool of water in the basement. We’re all safe, C and Ivy and myself and our families are safe as well.

I’d put up some pictures, but I didn’t take any.  But, I’m guessing that the insurance companies are going to be really busy tomorrow.  They’ve already shut down the campus for tomorrow Aside: which sucks, because I already had the day off. and this year is going to go down as a serious climatological orgasm for the following reasons:

  • Massive wind storm
  • Massive ice storm
  • First July on record not to reach 90 degrees
  • Massive flooding

I’d say that was pretty much a really good indicator of global climate change.  Disagree with me?  Post it in the comments!

See you in the funny papers!

3 thoughts on “Water, water, everywhere…but not a drop to drink.

  1. Glad you guys didn’t suffer much harm or damage. Yesterday was crazy! I have some photos of a swollen creek on my blog, and I’ve seen some crazy videos and photos on Flickr.

  2. Hey Lydia…I was amazed at the rain. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen it rain that much. In other news, did you get married yet? Your blog was offline the last time I checked it.

  3. It was pretty amazing. We didn’t have the rain like you guys did, of course, but the lightning was VERY impressive.

    Blog is back up and rockin’ (okay, not really). Not married yet. Still working on that.

Leave a Reply

