Anniversary

Six years ago today, I gussied up myself in a rented tuxedo and secreted myself away in the back of a downtown cathedral to hear some friends sing beautiful music for our wedding.  As the organist wound up the intro for us to go in, I paired up with my best man, J. and followed the priest (a die hard Cubs fan) down the aisle.  I turned at the altar and saw my mother and godmother standing with my grandmothers, and my father was on the aisle.  I hugged my father just as the huge doors opened to reveal the most beautiful bride in the world.  As she and and her father walked arm in arm, smiling and crying together, tears welled up in my eyes.  The cathedral was full with friends and family.  The flowers were extra bright colors and the music swelled to nearly raise the gilt-starred ceiling. Carrie-on-Indian-Ocean

Every single moment since that hour six years ago has been utter bliss.  Nobody understands when I tell them how wonderful my life has been since I met my wife.  I couldn’t possibly be that happy; that “in love” with one person…and never think twice.  She puts an absolute smile on my face every time I think of her and I can think of no other person I would want to spend eternity with.  She understands me, even when she groans and rolls her eyes at my dumb jokes.  She is a great sounding board and I, in turn, have become a great listener as well.  We share politics, even when we don’t necessarily agree.  She is the ideal mate and my bestest girl.  I can’t imagine my existence without her and I hope and pray for many, many more anniversaries to come.  I’m just thrilled she’s been able to put up with me for this long.

See you in the funny papers!

P.S. Check out the movie reviews for the latest viewings.

2 thoughts on “Anniversary

Leave a Reply

