BALLS!

Balls, I say!  Bollocks, even!

So, what, may you ask has gotten my dander in a lather this morning?  Oh, Intertubes, ya’ll have no idea.  Seriously, it’s just that bad.  But, here’s the thing, I’m about to lay it on you…so grab your cup of joe, or for those of you across the pond, at this hour, I suppose maybe a spot of tea.

Those bastards from New York swept my beloved Red Sox over the weekend.  Yes, I know, it’s not all that difficult to believe since we’ve been batting anemic since the All-Star break and the Yankees went out in the offseason and purchased an entirely new roster practically with which to beat my Beantown brothers.  Still, we had beaten them 8 straight times this season, and suddenly, they lose four straight?  It’s enough to conjure images of 1919.  I mean, our bullpen, though taxed in the 15-inning game on Friday, just fell apart last night and gave up the ghost.  It was a sad, sad day.

To compound the misery, I’m now at work, bathed in my own sweat, wasting a perfectly good shower AND a good shave even though, due to last week’s flooding, this building is still officially closed.  So, here I sit, desperately willing the fan to blow something other than hot air as I breathe in mildew and toxic mold Okay, that might be an exaggeration, but who can say for sure. I realize that this breaks my rule of blogging about work, but I feel this warrants it.  I know that they want us to work, but really, REALLY, this seems a bit unnecessary.  We should be able to stay home until they get the air handlers working again.  On the bright side, I am wearing shorts and a t-shirt.

In other news, C and I had a wonderful date for our anniversary.  We went to see (500) Days of Summer which you definitely need to go out this week and see.  It’s just that good.  The review is available on my movie page.  We also had dinner at the lovely 60 West Bistro and Martini Bar.  I did have a martini, called Chewbacca’s Scream of course! and it was quite good.  Thanks to my parents for watching the bebe while we went out.

See you in the funny papers!

4 thoughts on “BALLS!

  1. Pingback: Baseballbriefs.com
  2. Oh, but see, that’s why this was such an AWESOME weekend! Oh my, yes — my favorite four days of baseball in a long, long time. My morning coffee tasted of the piquant flavor of the BoSox Nation’s tears … so rare, of late, and so magically delicious!

  3. Glee, this is precisely why we’re not friends! *laughing* It is absolutely unfair that we didn’t win at least one. I swear, I stayed up through 15 innings just to have that jackleg hit a homerun off a guy who didn’t even have a uniform until earlier in the day! Pain in my ass! I was so mad last night, I almost threw the laptop…but it was C’s Macbook, so I thought better of it.

    We will have revenge!

Leave a Reply

